The Partial Agreement on Youth Mobility through the Youth Card was set up in 1991 at the initiative of the then Secretary General of the Council of Europe, Catherine Lalumière, following the Council of Europe Conference of Ministers responsible for Youth held in Lisbon (Portugal). At this Conference, the ministers advocated an increase in mobility of young people between the East and the West.

The Committee of Ministers' Resolution ResAP(1991) revised in 2003 (Resolution ResAP(2003)1) institutes a Partial Agreement on the Youth Card for the purpose of promoting and facilitating youth mobility in Europe. The Partial Agreement is part of the Youth Department of the Council of Europe and thus follows the priorities and objectives of both the youth sector and the Council of Europe as a whole.

Consult our activities

Developments regarding the European Youth Card scheme and/or youth mobility policy

Aims of the partial agreement

The overall objective of the Partial Agreement is for member governments and EYCA member organisations to work together to create better mobility solutions for young people. This general objective implies two main aims:

What is the procedure for joining the Partial Agreement?

For member States of the Council of Europe and States parties to the European Cultural Convention:
  • These member States may join the Partial Agreement at any moment by simply making a declaration to this effect to the Secretary General. This consists in sending an official letter or a verbal note from the Minister of Foreign Affairs or from the Permanent Representative of the country to the Council of Europe addressed to the Secretary General of the Council of Europe.
For States outside the Council of Europe and not party to the European Cultural Convention:
  • On a proposal by the European Youth Card Association and the Board of Co-ordination of the Partial Agreement, the Committee of Ministers may invite any non-member State of the Council of Europe to join the Partial Agreement, following consultation with any other non-member States already participating.

Partial agreement member States

Andorra, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Cyprus, Finland, Hungary, Ireland, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Montenegro, The Netherlands, Portugal, San Marino, Serbia, Slovenia, Slovakia and Switzerland.

More information on membership

Brochure Brochure
coe secretariat coe secretariat

Directorate of Democratic Participation
Youth Department
Unit of Intergovernmental Co-operation
Partial Agreement on Youth Mobility through the Youth Card
F – 67075 Strasbourg Cedex

Tel.: + 33 (0)3 88 41 29 98
Fax: +33 (0)3 88 41 27 77
Contact form

Best practices Best practices