The Committee on the Honouring of Obligations and Commitments by member States of the European Charter of Local Self-Government (Monitoring Committee) is responsible for monitoring the application of the European Charter of Local Self-Government and its additional Protocol on the right to participate in the affairs of local authorities by Council of Europe Member States that have ratified these legal instruments. It organises monitoring visits and drafts reports and recommendations on the state of local and regional democracy in the Member States concerned and also examines specific issues related to local and regional democracy. Through post-monitoring political dialogue, it ensures that its recommendations to Member States are followed up.

The Monitoring Committee undertakes in particular:

  • a general regular country-by-country monitoring mission to each Member State approximately every five years;
  • the examination of a particular aspect of the Charter, by decision of the Bureau or the Commission;
  • fact-finding missions to examine, by decision of the Bureau, specific cases of concern.

In its work, the Committee takes into account:

  • the conclusions and recommendations of the Congress concerning election observation missions;
  • the human rights situation at local and regional level in Europe and, in accordance with Resolution 296 (2010), prepares a regular report on this specific issue.

The Committee contributes to the post-monitoring dialogue and develops, as appropriate, targeted assistance programmes on issues of common interest identified during the monitoring visits, in order to provide concrete assistance to local and regional authorities and to ensure the effective follow-up of its recommendations.

News News

Easier access to Congress adopted texts

Congress Communication 19 May 2020 Strasbourg, France

The adopted texts of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe - recommendations and resolutions - as well as the reports are accessible in chronological order (by date and by session), with all relevant information, including the available language versions. They...

Read More

Congress prepares for Committee meetings in September 2020

17 April 2020 Strasbourg, France

Further to the decision of the President of the Congress and the Presidents of the two Chambers, the meetings of the three Congress Committees have been rescheduled due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic and will be organised on 21 September 2020 in Strasbourg. The meetings of the three Committees...

Read More

Congress carried out a monitoring visit to Ukraine

Monitoring Committee 4 to 6 March 2020 Ukraine

A delegation of the Congress carried out a monitoring visit to Ukraine, in Kyiv, Fastiv and Tomashivska, from 4 to 6 March 2020, to assess the implementation of the provisions of the European Charter of Local Self-Government which the country ratified in 1997. The Congress rapporteurs, Ms Gunn...

Read More

Congress constitutional expert Francesco Palermo: “Trust building in local self-government is essential to the democratic development of Ukraine”

Monitoring committee 24 and 25 February 2020 Kyiv, Ukraine

Contributing to the Council of Europe Joint Mission to Kyiv (Ukraine), carried out on 24 and 25 February 2020, Congress’ constitutional advisor prof. Francesco Palermo, member of the Group of Independent Experts on the European Charter of Local Self-Government (GIE), participated in an exchange...

Read More

A contemporary commentary for a better understanding of the European Charter of Local Self-Government

Monitoring Committee 11 February 2020 Metz, France

"When the 47 Member States ratified the European Charter of Local Self-Government, they also implicitly accepted its explanatory report," said Jakob Wienen (Netherlands, EPP/CCE) on 11 February 2020, at the meeting of the Monitoring Committee in Metz, France. "We decided to provide a contemporary...

Read More

Meeting Meeting

Monitoring Committee Meeting

Chair Chair
Leendert VERBEEK
Netherlands, SOC
Chair of the Monitoring Committee
King's Commissioner of the province of Flevoland
Who's who

Database of the monitoring of the European Charter of Local Self-Government



Composition Composition

The number of seats in committees and their apportionment by country is agreed and updated by the Bureau of the Congress.

Composition of the Monitoring Committee

Members' Area Members' Area

Information on the obligations of Congress members, as well as practical details (travel, refunds, interpretation and translations) are available on the "Members' Area" page.

 Members' area

Meeting registration Meeting registration

You are a member of the Congress

To register for the Committee meetings, you will need to connect to your personal Who's Who account and fill in the on line forms.
Your username is by default the E mail address that you provided to the Table Office when registering as a Congress member.
If you encounter difficulties, contact the Table Office of the Congress
Access to your personal Who's who account


You are not a member of the Congress

Access to the registration form "Other participants"


Stéphanie Poirel
Committee Secretary
Tel. + 33 3 90 21 51 84