4 types of partnership status 4 types of partnership status

The Congress of Local and Regional Authorities has replaced its former observer status by four new types of partnership status in order to have a more targeted approach to the different categories of partner (such as national and European associations) and more detailed rules on their  participation.

These new statuses are:

  • Statutory Partner;
  • Institutional Partner;
  • Observer Partner
  • and Guest Observer.

Type of status with
reference to the Congress Rules and Procedures


Date of the
Bureau’s decision

Statutory Partner with the Congress (Rule 68)

Assembly of European Regions (AER)

10 February 2017

Council of European Municipalities and Regions (CEMR)

10 February 2017

Institutional Partner with the Congress (Rule 69)

Network of Associations of Local Authorities of South-East Europe (NALAS)

27 March 2017

Conference of Peripheral Maritime Regions (CPMR)

16 June 2017

European Association for Local Democracy (ALDA)

18 June 2018

Institutional Partner with the Chamber of Local Authorities (Rule 69)

Conference of Atlantic Arc Cities (CAAC)

16 June 2017

Observer Partner with the Congress
(Rule 70)

Confederation of Outermost Municipalities (CMU)

27 March 2017

Guest Observer with the Congress
(Rule 71)

Lev Sapieha Foundation (Belarus)

10 February 2017

Council for Co-operation of Local Self-Governance Bodies under the Council of the Republic of the National Assembly of the Republic of Belarus

10 February 2017

China International Friendship Cities Association (CIFCA)

10 February 2017

Council of Local Authorities for International Relations (CLAIR)

16 June 2017

Guest Observer with the Chamber of Local Authorities (Rule 71)

Association of Kosovo Municipalities (AKM)

10 February 2017

References References