Le Congrès s'est engagé à promouvoir la participation active des jeunes à la vie civique comme un moyen d'assurer la cohésion sociale et l'ancrage des principes démocratiques dans une société fondée sur le respect des droits de l'homme. Cette approche a été confirmée par l'adoption de la Charte européenne sur la participation des jeunes à la vie municipale et régionale en 1992.

Mais, ainsi que souligné dans le rapport du Congrès sur " Les jeunes et la démocratie: le visage changeant de l'engagement politique des jeunes, les jeunes, au 21ème siècle, s’engagent différemment. Il existe un large fossé entre les institutions politiques et la manière dont les jeunes envisagent la participation. La conférence du Congrès sur la promotion de la participation des jeunes, tenue en 2014, a clairement établi que les institutions ont de la difficulté à saisir non seulement ce que sont ces nouvelles formes de participation, mais aussi les questions qui les mobilisent. Pour leur part, les jeunes sont confrontés au chômage, à la précarité de l'emploi et à une transition difficile vers le travail et la vie adulte. De plus en plus désenchantés, ils se sentent marginalisés du processus politique.

La participation active des citoyens dans les structures et les institutions démocratiques représentatives est décisive pour garantir la légitimité, la crédibilité et le fonctionnement des systèmes démocratiques. Le Congrès coopère avec les jeunes et les autorités territoriales pour avancer vers la réalisation de la participation significative des jeunes.

Publications Publications

Charte européenne révisée sur la participation des jeunes à la vie locale et régionale

Les jeunes doivent être associés aux structures et aux processus démocratiques ; ils doivent pouvoir faire entendre leur voix et prendre des décisions sur les questions qui ont une incidence sur leur vie. Leur participation active est essentielle si nous voulons bâtir des sociétés plus démocratiques, plus solidaires et plus prospères.

Le Congrès des pouvoirs locaux et régionaux du Conseil de l’Europe est convaincu que c’est aux niveaux local et régional qu’une culture de participation des jeunes peut être développée, qu’elle peut s’enraciner et prospérer. 

La Charte révisée contient des principes, des bonnes pratiques et des lignes directrices pour une participation des jeunes aux niveaux local et régional. Elle souligne aussi les exigences fondamentales pour que cette participation soit réelle, à savoir que les jeunes aient les droits, les moyens, l’espace, la possibilité et le soutien nécessaires. 


Brochures disponibles en:
English - French - German - ItalianAzerbaijani - Belarusian
Bulgarian Greek - Hungarian - Romanian - Serbian
Spanish - Turkish - Ukrainian
Autres traductions:
Albanian - Georgian - Polish - Romance - Russian - Swedish

 

Autres publications du département Jeunesse sur la Charte européenne révisée sur la participation des jeunes à la vie locale et régionale

Jeunes délégués Jeunes délégués

Depuis octobre 2014, le Congrès invite des jeunes venus d’horizons différents à participer à ses sessions, à donner leur point de vue au cours des débats et à avoir un échange avec les membres du Congrès sur les questions inscrites à l’ordre du jour.

Devenir un délégué jeune

 Participer aux sessions

 Wébinaires pour les délégués jeunes

 Guide et code de conduite pour les délégués jeunes

Ressources Ressources
 Textes de référence du Congrès sur la participation des jeunes
[Rapports, Recommandations, Résolutions...]
Contact Contact

Service de la Séance
Dolores Ríos Turón
+33 (0)3 88 41 34 51
congress.session@coe.int

Unité de communication institutionnelle
Saida Théophile
+33 (0)3 90 21 48 95
saida.theophile@coe.int

The Congress has long been committed to promoting the active participation of young people in civic life as a means of securing social cohesion and anchoring democratic principles in a society based on respect for human rights. This approach was borne out by the adoption of its European Charter on the participation of young people in municipal and regional life in 1992.

But as highlighted in the Congress report on “Youth and democracy: the changing face of youth political engagement”, in the 21st century, young people are engaging differently. There is a wide gap between political institutions’ and young people’s understanding of participation. During the Congress’ 2014 conference on promoting youth participation, it became clear that institutions have difficulty in grasping not only what these new forms of youth participation are but also the issues that mobilise young people. For their part, young people are facing unemployment, job insecurity, difficult transitions to work and adult life. They are increasingly disenchanted and feel marginalised from the political process.

The active participation of citizens in democratic structures and representative institutions is decisive in guaranteeing the legitimacy, credibility and operation of democratic systems. The Congress is cooperating with young people and local and regional authorities to find a way forward towards achieving the meaningful participation of young people.

PUBLICATIONS PUBLICATIONS

Revised European Charter on the Participation of Young People in Local and Regional Life

Young people must be included in democratic structures and processes, have their voices heard and make decisions on issues that impact on them and their lives. Their active participation is essential if we are to build more democratic, caring and prosperous societies.

The Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe is convinced that it is at local and regional levels that a culture of youth participation can most efectively take root and thrive.  

The revised Charter contains principles, best practices and guidelines to enhance youth participation at local and regional levels. It also sets out the basic requirements for this participation to be meaningful, i.e. young people must have the necessary rights, means, space, opportunity and support.


Booklets available in:
English - French - German - Italian - Azerbaijani - Belarusian
Bulgarian Greek - Hungarian - Romanian - Serbian
Spanish - Turkish - Ukrainian
Other translations:
Albanian - Georgian - Polish - Romance - Russian - Swedish

 

 

Other publications of the Youth Sector, on the Revised European Charter on the Participation of Young people in Local and Regional Life

Youth Delegates Youth Delegates

Since October 2014, the Congress has invited young people from different backgrounds to take part in its sessions, to have their say in the debates and to exchange with Congress members on the issues on the agenda.

How to become a youth delegate?

 Participating in Congress Sessions

 Webinars for youth delegates

 Guidelines and Code of conduct for youth delegates

Resources Resources
  Congress reference texts on youth participation
[Reports, Recommendations, Resolutions...]
Contact Contact
Table Office
Dolores Ríos Turón
+33 (0)3 88 41 34 51
congress.session@coe.int 

Institutional Communication Unit
Saida Theophile
+33 (0)3 90 21 48 95
saida.theophile@coe.int