Czech Republic Chairmanship of the Committee of Ministers and grassroots democracy

The Chairmanship of the Committee of Ministers passed from Cyprus to Czech Republic, at the end of a session held on 19 May 2017 in Strasbourg and attended by the Ministers for Foreign Affairs of the Council of Europe's 47 member states. The outgoing Chair, Cyprian Foreign Minister Ioannis Kasoulides, presented the stocktaking of his country's achievements during his chairmanship. The new Chair of the Committee of Ministers, Lubomír Zaorálek, Minister for Foreign Affairs of Czech Republic, presented the priorities of her country's chairmanship which will run for the forthcoming six months as of today.

Petr MLSNA: “Supporting local and regional democracy is a top priority of the Czech Chairmanship of the Committee of Ministers” [19/10/2017]
Deputy Minister for Legislation and Archiving, Ministry of the Interior of the Czech Republic, Petr MLSNA, presented the key priorities of the Czech Chairmanship during the 33rd Congress Session in Strasbourg, on 18 October 2017. Among them, Mr MLSNA pointed out the importance of supporting democracy at local and regional level and the reforms of the public administration. In particular, he presented the “Guidelines for civil participation in political decision making” adopted by the Committee of Ministers, in September 2017. The Minister also mentioned several international political issues such as the current situation in Spain, the fight against radicalism and the migration crisis. He also highlighted the role of local authorities in the fight against corruption and welcomed the Congress’ efforts to work towards ensuring transparency, accountability and ethics at local and regional level. “The Committee of Ministers is aware that fighting fraud and corruption has long been a priority for the Congress, and I would encourage you to continue in the implementation of its roadmap adopted last year”, he stressed. 
[16/06/2017]  Bilateral meetings between the President of the Congress and the authorities of the Czech Republic
[13/06/2017]  Meeting of the Congress Bureau in Brno
[02/06/2017]  Monitoring visit by the Congress to the Principality of Liechtenstein

Documents "Czech republic: activities and texts of the Congress"


Delegation of Czech Republic

The Czech Republic delegation to the Congress comprises 7 representatives and 7 substitutes. The head of the delegation is Zdenek BROZ.
Czech Republic delegation
Texts adopted by the Congress

Local democracy in Czech Republic
Recommendation 319 (2012)
Report CG(22)6 (2012)

Saïda Theophile, Head of institutional Communication Unit
Email / Tél. + 33 3 90 21 48 95