Back to HomepageBack to Cultural Co-operation website

All about the Prize of the Regions of the Congress

Who can participate in?

All regions that comply with the principles of the Charter of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe.

Note: If a project consists of several partners, all partners must provide a written and signed agreement of their participation in the competition. The prize will be awarded to the lead partner. Other partners will receive awards of participation.


The questions each region has to answer have been identified in the Application form. Of the following criteria, 1-3 are compulsory. For criteria 4-8, applicant regions will be asked to comply with a minimum of 3.

1. The project must be in line with the democratic and social principles of the Council of Europe

2. A project can be either:
a. Public,
b. Public/private co-operation.

Both types of project should ensure that the project results make a long-term difference for the region. The public/private co-operation should guarantee that the pressures on public finances are lessened.

3. The project should be completed but it should continue to produce results
Projects must fit in the local authority or region’s strategic long-term development. They may not be one-off projects.

4. Projects should be transferable, serve as a model and promote best practice for other regions
It should be possible to recreate and reproduce the project.

5. The project should be innovative
Innovation can mean a whole new set of solutions. It can also mean using an existing solution in a new way.

6. The project should enhance public social interaction
Projects should not exist in isolation. Even if the initial project phase is aimed at a small test population, the aim must be to include larger populations.

7. The regional citizens should have a high awareness of the project
The region should have made its citizens aware of the project. The project should also show a reasonable level of uptake and continued use of the project results.

8. The projects should support sustainable development
This is sustainability in the widest sense. It can mean democratic sustainability, financial sustainability, a higher degree of integration in the society, as well as environmental sustainability.

Proposed prize categories

Projects can be of two types – “technical” or “public awareness raising.”

Technical projects are projects that intervene directly to solve an identified insufficiency in the region in areas such as research and innovation, regional employment initiatives, regional democracy initiatives (inclusion, education, culture…), regional financial initiatives (microcredits, science parks…).

Public awareness raising projects are regional projects that aim at informing regional citizens of a solution and/or opportunity that already exists.

Call for applications and processing of applications

Regions of the 47 Council of Europe member states are invited to present their candidature. The closing date for submission of applications is September, 10th 2008. The applications can be sent either by e-mail or post. The date on the postal stamp is valid. Applications cannot exceed the allocated space (see Application form) and must be completed in English or French. The application should succinctly describe the project’s unique nature, and explain its development. The application form, in French and English can be downloaded on and

More detailed information may be enclosed with the application (20 pages maximum). Such information may be submitted in the national language with a summary in English.

Applications that are incomplete or arrive after the closing date will not be accepted.


An independent jury will meet in October 2008. It will be chaired by the President of the Congress and composed of eminent personalities.

About the Prize
Who can participate?
Additional information

Do you want to participate?

What kind of project  you can present
How to apply for the Prize of the Regions 2008


2008 Winners
Leaflet (Pdf)
Application form


Congress website
Dexia website