Croatie

 

Rapport plus détaillé : Rapport de politique nationale

Thésaurus: Thésaurus - terme croates

Glossaire : Termes en croate

Coordinateur national : Zrinka STEPANIĆ HOFER

 POLITIQUE DU PATRIMOINE

Une grande attention est accordée au patrimoine culturel, qui bénéficie d’une protection particulière, comme le déclare la Constitution de la République de Croatie. La législation actuelle (Loi sur la Protection et la sauvegarde du patrimoine culturel) définit tous les types de biens culturels et de sites culturels-historiques.

Le Registre des biens culturels de la République de Croatie est un livre public de documents culturels tenu par le ministère de la Culture. En début février 2018, un total de 9414 biens culturels étaient inscrits dans ce Registre dans trois listes:

  • la liste des biens culturels protégés ;
  • la liste des biens culturels d’importance nationale ;
  • la liste des biens culturels protégés préventivement.

6809 BIENS CULTURELS IMMEUBLES

  • 6210 BIENS CULTURELS IMMEUBLES INDIVIDUELS (1026 sites archéologiques terrestres et sous-marins)
  • 587 ZONES CULTURELLES-HISTORIQUES (107 zones archéologiques terrestres et sous-marins)
  • 12 paysages culturels

2437 BIENS CULTURELS MOBILIERS

  • 1279 BIENS CULTURELS MOBILIERS INDIVIDUELS
  • 975 COLLECTIONS
  • 183 FONDS DES MUSÉES

167 BIENS CULTURELS INTANGIBLES

  • 23 arts du spectacle
  • 27 coutumes, rituels et cérémonies
  • 18 artisanats traditionnels
  • 25 traditions orales, expressions et langage,
  • 72 connaissances et talents,
  • 2 autres

 

 CADRE INSTITUTIONNEL

Direction pour la protection du patrimoine culturel

C’est l’organisme chargé des missions administratives et professionnelles qu’impliquent la protection et la sauvegarde du patrimoine culturel. Cette Direction pour la protection du patrimoine culturel comprend deux secteurs :

  • celui de la Protection du patrimoine culturel
  • celui des Services de la conservation et de l’inspection

Ce dernier inclus les Services de la conservation et ses Bureaux régionaux (21) ainsi que l’Institut pour la Protection des monuments culturels et de la nature de la ville de Zagreb. Le Service de l’Inspection de la Direction pour la protection du patrimoine culturel surveille l’application de la réglementation.

Etablissements de restauration

Les établissements chargés de protéger et de préserver les biens culturels comprennent les organismes de restauration et d’autres établissements similaires ainsi que des musées, des galeries, des archives, des bibliothèques et d’autres administrations culturelles qui, dans le cadre de leurs activités, assurent des missions de préservation, de rénovation et de protection de biens culturels.

La restauration, la conservation et la rénovation de biens culturels sont assurées par l'Institut croate pour la restauration, un organisme public de la République de Croatie. L'Institut pour la restauration de Dubrovnik assure l’organisation et la mise en œuvre du Programme de restauration du centre historique menacé de Dubrovnik. L'Agence pour la rénovation de la citadelle d'Osijek est une administration publique chargée de préparer, d’organiser et de mettre en œuvre les programmes de protection et de réhabilitation de la citadelle d’Osijek.

Aux institutions susmentionnées s’ajoutent des personnes morales ou physiques qui assurent des recherches, des analyses, des inventaires, de la restauration, de la sauvegarde et de la préservation de biens culturels. Le ministère de la Culture définit les conditions que doivent remplir ces personnes morales ou physiques pour obtenir l’autorisation de mener de telles activités.

Niveau local

Les communes, les villes et les comtés bénéficient d’une certaine indépendance dans leurs décisions dans le cadre de l’autonomie territoriale (certaines villes et communes emploient du personnel chargé des questions culturelles, y compris des initiatives pour le patrimoine culturel comme le lancement de projets de restauration – certaines sont plus actives que d’autres dans ce domaine). Les administrations territoriales de la culture supervisent et coordonnent les activités relevant de la mise en œuvre de projets de protection et de préservation du patrimoine culturel mobilier et immobilier.

 

 JURIDIQUE

Législation actuelle sur le patrimoine culturel (en croate seulement):

  • Loi sur la Protection et la préservation du patrimoine culturel (JO: 69/99,151/03,157/03, amendements 87/09, 88/10, 61/11,25/12, 157/13)
  • Loi sur la restauration de l’Ensemble menacé des monuments de Dubrovnik, (JO 21/86,26/93,33/89,128/99)

 

 CONVENTIONS INTERNATIONALES RATIFIEES

  • Loi de Ratification de la Convention sur la protection du patrimoine culturel subaquatique (JO Conventions internationales 10/04).
  • Convention pour la sauvegarde du patrimoine architectural de l'Europe, Grenade, 1985 (JO 6/94)
  • Convention pour la protection des biens culturels en cas de conflit armé et son Protocole interdisant l'exportation de biens culturels d'un territoire occupé (JO, Conventions internationales, 6/94).
  • Loi de Ratification de la Convention d’UNIDROIT sur les biens culturels volés ou illicitement exportés, adoptée à Rome, le 24 juin 1995 (JO, Conventions internationales, 5/00, 6/02 promulgation).
  • Loi de Ratification de la Convention européenne pour la protection du patrimoine archéologique (révisée), 1992, adoptée à La Valette, 16 janvier 1992 (JO Conventions internationales, 4/04 et 9/04 promulgation).
  • Loi de Ratification de la Convention pour la sauvegarde du patrimoine culturel immatériel (JO Conventions internationales 5/05, 5/07 promulgation).
  • Convention de l’UNESCO concernant les mesures à prendre pour interdire et empêcher l'importation, l'exportation et le transfert de propriété illicites des biens culturels (JO Conventions internationales, 12/93).
  • Convention concernant la protection du patrimoine mondial, culturel et naturel (JO Conventions internationales, 12/93: adoptée à Paris, 1972). La République de Croatie est devenue Partie à ce Traité en vertu de la notification de succession du 8 octobre 1991 (entrée en vigueur le 8 octobre 1991).
  • Règlement sur la promulgation de l’Accord entre le gouvernement de la République de Croatie et le gouvernement des Etats-Unis d'Amérique sur la protection et la sauvegarde de certains biens culturels (JO Conventions internationales, 9/06, 2/07 promulgation)
  • Loi de Ratification du Deuxième protocole relatif à la Convention de La Haye de 1954 pour la protection des biens culturels en cas de conflit armé (JO Conventions internationales 11/05)
  • Loi de Ratification de la Convention-cadre du Conseil de l'Europe sur la valeur du patrimoine culturel pour la société (JO Conventions internationales 5/07)
  • Règlement sur la Ratification du Traité entre l’UNESCO et le gouvernement de la République de Croatie sur la création du Centre régional d’archéologie sous-marine de Zadar, Croatie, un Centre de Catégorie II sous l’égide de l’UNESCO (JO Conventions internationales 1/09)
  • Loi de Ratification de la Convention européenne du paysage (JO Conventions internationales 12/02)
  • Règlement relatif à la promulgation du Traité entre le Gouvernement de la République de Croatie et l'UNESCO concernant la poursuite des activités du Centre régional d'archéologie subaquatique de Zadar (Croatie) en tant que centre de catégorie II placé sous l'égide de l'UNESCO (JO Conventions internationales 5/16)

Croatia

 

More detailed report: National Policy Report

Thesaurus: Thesaurus - Croatian terms

Glossary: Terms in Croatian

National coordinator: Zrinka STEPANIĆ HOFER

 CULTURAL HERITAGE POLICY

Cultural heritage is of outmost importance and receives its special protection as stated in the Constitution of the Republic of Croatia. Current legislation (Act on the Protection and Preservation of Cultural Property) defines all categories and types of cultural heritage.

The Register of Cultural Goods of the Republic of Croatia is a public book of cultural documents kept by the Ministry of Culture. By the beginning of February 2018, a total of 9414 cultural goods have been inscribed in that Register in three Lists:

  • the List of Protected Cultural Goods;
  • the List of Cultural Goods of National Importance;
  • the List of Preventively Protected Cultural Goods.

6809 IMMOVABLE CULTURAL GOODS

  • 6210 INDIVIDUAL IMMOVABLE CULTURAL GOODS (1026 underwater and above ground archaeological sites)
  • 587 CULTURAL-HISTORICAL AREAS (107 underwater and above ground archaeological areas)
  • 12 CULTURAL LANDSCAPES

2437 MOVABLE CULTURAL GOODS

  • 1279 INDIVIDUAL MOVABLE CULTURAL GOODS
  • 975 COLLECTIONS
  • 183 MUSEUM HOLDINGS

167 INTANGIBLE CULTURAL GOODS

  • 23 performing arts
  • 27 customs, rituals and ceremonies
  • 18 traditional crafts,
  • 25 oral tradition, expressions and language,
  • 72 knowledge and skills,
  • 2 other

 

 INSTITUTIONAL FRAMEWORK

Directorate for the Protection of Cultural Heritage

It is the body responsible for carrying out administrative and professional tasks related to the protection and preservation of cultural heritage. The Directorate for the Protection of Cultural Heritage consists of two sectors:

  • the Cultural Heritage Protection Sector;
  • the Conservation Departments and Inspection Sector.

The latter comprises Conservation Departments for the Regions (19) and the City Institute for the Conservation of Cultural and Natural Heritage of the City of Zagreb. The Office for Inspection Activities supervises the application of legal regulations.

Restoration institutions

Institutions for the protection and preservation of cultural goods are restoration institutes or other restoration institutions as well as museums, galleries, archives, libraries and other public institutions in the field of culture, which in the framework of their activities, carry out tasks related to preservation, renovation and protection of cultural property.

Tasks related to restoration, conservation and renovation of cultural property are performed by the Croatian Restoration Institute, a public institution in the ownership of the Republic of Croatia. The Institute for Restoration of Dubrovnik performs activities in organization and implementation of the Restoration programme of endangered historic centre of Dubrovnik. The Agency for the Renovation of the Osijek Citadel is established as a public institution in charge of preparation, organization and implementation of programmes for protection and revitalization of the Osijek Citadel.

Along with the aforementioned institutions, the tasks of research, analysis, record-keeping, restoration, conservation and preservation of cultural property may be performed by specialised legal or physical persons. The Minister of Culture prescribes the conditions to be fulfilled by legal or physical persons in order to acquire permits to carry out these works.

Local level

The municipalities, towns and counties may act independently in decision-making in the framework of their self-governmental scope of work (some municipalities and towns employ staff to deal with cultural issues including projects concerning cultural heritage such as the launching of rehabilitation projects – some are more active than others in this respect). The municipalities, towns and counties can declare cultural goods of local significance by decision and they have to ensure the conditions and means for the implementation thereof.

 

 LEGAL FRAMEWORK

The current legislation on cultural heritage (available only in Croatian language):

  • Act on the Protection and Preservation of Cultural Property (OG: 69/99,151/03,157/03, amendments 87/09, 88/10, 61/11,25/12, 157/13, 152/14, 44/17)
  • Act on the Rehabilitation of the Threatened Monument Complex of Dubrovnik, (OG 21/86,26/93,33/89,128/99, 19/14, 99/14)

 

 RATIFIED INTERNATIONAL CONVENTIONS

  • Act on the Ratification of the Convention on the Protection of Underwater Cultural Heritage (OG International Conventions 10/04).
  • Convention for the Protection of the Architectural Heritage of Europe, Granada, 1985 (OG International Conventions 6/94)
  • Convention on the protection of cultural goods in the event of armed conflict and its Protocol relating to the prohibition on exports of cultural goods from occupied territories (OG, International Conventions, 12/93, 6/02 promulgation).
  • Act on the Ratification of the UNIDROIT Convention on Stolen or Illegally Exported Cultural Objects, drawn up in Rome, 24 June 1995 (OG, International Conventions, 5/00, 6/02 promulgation).
  • Act on the Ratification of the European Convention on the Protection of Archaeological Heritage (revised), 1992, drawn up in Valetta, 16 January 1992 (OG International Conventions, 4/04 and 9/04 promulgation).
  • Act on the Ratification of the Convention on the Protection of Intangible Cultural Heritage (OG International Conventions 5/05, 5/07 promulgation).
  • UNESCO Convention on Measures to Protect and Prevent Unauthorised Imports, Exports and Transfer of Cultural Goods (OG International Conventions, 12/93).
  • Convention on the Protection of World Cultural and Natural Heritage (OG International Conventions, 12/93: adopted in Paris, 1972). The Republic of Croatia became a party to the Convention pursuant to the notification of succession of 8 October 1991 (Entered into force on 8 October 1991).
  • Regulation on the promulgation of the Agreement between the Government of the Republic of Croatia and the Government of the United States of America on the protection and preservation of certain cultural goods (OG International Conventions, 9/06, 2/07 promulgation)
  • Act on the Ratification of the Second Protocol to the Convention on the Protection of Cultural Goods in the Event of Armed Conflict (OG International Conventions 11/05)
  • Act on the Ratification of the Framework Convention of the Council of Europe on the value of cultural heritage to society (OG International Conventions 5/07)
  • Regulation on the Ratification of the Treaty between UNESCO and the Government of the Republic of Croatia on the Establishment of the Regional Centre for Underwater Archaeology in Zadar, Croatia, as a Category II Centre under the auspices of UNESCO (OG 1/09)
  • Act on the Ratification of the Convention on European Landscapes (OG International Conventions 12/02)
  • Regulation on the promulgation of the Treaty between the Government of the Republic of Croatia and UNESCO regarding the continuation of activity of the Regional Centre for Underwater Archaeology in Zadar, Croatia, as a Category II Centre under the auspices of UNESCO (OG International Conventions 5/16)