Webcontent-Anzeige Webcontent-Anzeige

Ireland took over the rolling six-month Presidency of the Council of Europe's Committee of Ministers on 20 May 2022.

The handover from Italy’s Minister of Foreign Affairs Mr. Luigi Di Maio to Ireland’s Minister for Foreign Affairs Mr. Simon Coveney and beginning of Ireland’s Presidency took place at a meeting of foreign ministers held in Turin, Italy.

Ireland will focus on three main themes:

  • reinforcing Human Rights & the Protection of Civilians in Europe;
  • promoting Participatory Democracy & Youth Engagement;
  • fostering a Europe of Welcome, Inclusion, & Diversity.

In the framework of the Irish Presidency, the Bureau of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities is invited to meet on 14 June in Tralee.

Furthermore, the Irish Presidency is invited to the next Congress session which will be held on 25-27 October in Strasbourg.

Asset Publisher Asset Publisher

Congress President meets the President of the Committee of Ministers, Irish Minister of State for European Affairs

Presidency 12 October 2022 Strasbourg, France

Today, Congress President, Leendert Verbeek met with the Minister of State for European Affairs of Ireland, Thomas Byrne who was participating in the session of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe. Congress President underlined the unique role of the Congress in the institutional...

Read More

Congress Bureau met in Tralee, Ireland

Bureau 20 June 2022 Tralee, Ireland

In the context of Ireland's Presidency of the Committee of Ministers Council of Europe the Bureau of the Congress met on 14 June 2022 in Tralee, Kerry County, Ireland and had an exchange of views with Irish councillors, including members of the Irish delegation to the Congress, on local...

Read More

Session of the Committee of Ministers - Congress President stresses the need for reflecting upon our future collectively at all levels of governance

Committee of Ministers 20 May 2022 Turin, Italy

Addressing the 132nd Session of the Committee of Ministers, in Turin, Italy, on 20 May 2020, Leendert Verbeek, President of the Congress of Local and Regional authorities of the Council of Europe, underlined that in light of the multiple crises which the European continent is facing it is...

Read More

Webcontent-Anzeige Webcontent-Anzeige
Webcontent-Anzeige Webcontent-Anzeige

 Irish delegation

The Irish delegation to the Congress comprises 4 representatives and 4 substitutes.
The head of the delegation is James MOLONEY

Webcontent-Anzeige Webcontent-Anzeige
Webcontent-Anzeige Webcontent-Anzeige

Council of Europe
Congress of Local and Regional Authorities
F-67075 STRASBOURG cedex
Tel : +33 3 88 41 21 10 

 Contact us