A strong commitment by Council of Europe and CEB member states to human rights

The Human Rights Trust Fund (HRTF) was set up in March 2008 by Norway, initiator and a founding contributor, the Council of Europe and the CEB - Council of Europe Development Bank. Since its creation, Germany, the Netherlands, Finland, Switzerland and the United Kingdom have also joined.

Its remit is to provide funding for states' efforts to meet their commitments under the European Convention on Human Rights and other Council of Europe human rights standards.

"Instruments such as the Human Rights Trust Fund are invaluable in order to help translate our human rights standards into practice. This Fund is an example of good financial practice, encouraging Member States to better participate in promoting the principles and values of the Council of Europe. Through this financial tool, the Council of Europe and the CEB can widen and enhance the impact of their action in this field and contribute to the efforts of Member States in complying with their obligations under the European Convention on Human Rights and other human rights instruments of the Council of Europe."

Thorbjørn Jagland, Secretary General of the Council of Europe

“In my capacity as the Chair of the Assembly of Contributors of the Human Rights Trust Fund and as the Permanent Representative of Switzerland, one of the six donor countries to the Fund, I notice the unique and most useful contribution of the Human Rights Trust Fund (HRTF) to co-operation and dialogue with member states in my everyday work.

The Fund has played a valuable role in supporting member States to meet their obligations under the European Convention on Human Rights thus avoiding new or repetitive cases being brought before the Court. The HRTF has also proved to be instrumental in taking the reform of the Convention system forward and has notably brought significant support to training professional groups on Council of Europe standards, including the integration of these standards in University curricula.

Today, together with the other five like-minded contributors – Finland, Germany, Norway, the Netherlands and the United Kingdom – I especially stress the importance of fully supporting national application of the Council of Europe human rights standards, which is an essential pillar of the unique structure of our organisation.”

Ambassador Markus Börlin, Permanent Representative of Switzerland to the Council of Europe, and Chairperson of the Assembly of Contributors of the HRTF

"The Human Rights Trust Fund is a unique and effective instrument to support the implementation of the European Convention on Human Rights within the Member States of the Council of Europe. It aims, in particular, at strengthening the sustainability of the European Court of Human Rights... We hope others will join us as there is plenty to do to maintain and promote human rights and fundamental freedoms on our continent."

Ellen Berends, former Chairperson of the Governing Body of the HRTF and former Permanent Representative of the Netherlands to the Council of Europe

 

"The participation of the CEB to the Human Rights Trust Fund is a clear sign of its strong attachment to the values promoted by the Council of Europe and particularly of its support for the European system of human rights protection. CEB's social mandate is intrisically linked to these values."

Rolf Wenzel, Governor of the CEB

Un engagement fort des Etats membres du Conseil de l'Europe et de la CEB en faveur des droits de l'homme

Le Fonds fiduciaire pour les droits de l’homme (Human Rights Trust Fund, HRTF) a été créé en mars 2008, par la Norvège, initiateur et contributeur fondateur, le Conseil de l’Europe et la CEB - Banque de Développement du Conseil de l'Europe. Depuis, il a été rejoint par l’Allemagne, les Pays-Bas, la Finlande, la Suisse et le Royaume-Uni.

Il a pour mission d'assurer le financement des efforts que déploient les Etats pour remplir les obligations découlant de la Convention européenne des droits de l'homme et d'autres normes du Conseil de l'Europe en matière de droits de l'homme.

"Des instruments tels que le Fonds fiduciaire pour les droits de l'homme sont inestimables pour aider à transposer dans la pratique nos standards en matière de droits de l’homme. Ce Fonds est un exemple de bonne pratique financière qui encourage les États membres à participer de manière accrue à la promotion des principes et valeurs du Conseil de l’Europe. Grâce à cet instrument financier, le Conseil de l’Europe et la CEB peuvent élargir et améliorer l’impact de leur action dans ce domaine et contribuer aux efforts des États membres pour remplir leurs obligations découlant de la Convention européenne des droits de l’homme et d’autres instruments du Conseil de l’Europe en matière de droits de l’homme."

Thorbjørn Jagland, Secrétaire Général du Conseil de l'Europe

« En ma qualité de Président de l’Assemblée générale des contributeurs du Fonds fiduciaire pour les droits de l’homme et de Représentant permanent de la Suisse, un des six pays donateurs au Fonds, je constate dans mon travail quotidien la contribution unique et des plus utiles du Fonds fiduciaire pour les droits de l’homme (HRTF) à la coopération et au dialogue entre Etats membres.

Le Fonds a joué un rôle important de soutien des Etats membres pour leur permettre de remplir les obligations de la Convention européenne des droits de l’homme évitant ainsi que des affaires nouvelles ou répétitives soient soumises à la Cour.  Le HRTF a aussi manifestement contribué à faire avancer la réforme du système de la Convention et a notamment fourni un soutien important à la formation de groupes de professionnels sur les normes du Conseil de l’Europe, y compris l’intégration de ces normes dans des cursus universitaires.

Aujourd’hui, avec les cinq autres contributeurs aux vues similaires – Finlande, Allemagne, Norvège, Pays-Bas et Royaume-Uni – je souligne tout particulièrement l’importance de soutenir pleinement la mise en œuvre au niveau national des normes du Conseil de l'Europe en matière de droits de l'homme qui est un pilier essentiel de la structure unique de notre organisation. »

Ambassadeur Markus Börlin, Représentant permanent de la Suisse auprès du Conseil de l’Europe et Président de l’Assemblée des contributeurs du HRTF

"Le Fonds fiduciaire pour les droits de l'homme est un instrument unique et efficace destiné à encourager la mise en œuvre de la Convention européenne des droits de l'homme au sein des Etats membres du Conseil de l'Europe. Il a pour objectif, en particulier, de consolider la durabilité de la Cour européenne des droits de l'homme. Six pays contribuent au Fonds: la Norvège, l'Allemagne, la Suisse, la Finlande, les Pays-Bas et, depuis 2012, le Royaume-Uni également. Nous espérons que d'autres nous rejoindront tant il reste à faire pour maintenir et promouvoir les droits de l'homme et les libertés fondamentales au sein de notre continent."

Ellen Berends, acien Présidente de l'Assemblée du HRTF, Représentante Permanente des Pays-Bas auprès du Conseil de l'Europe

 

"La participation de la CEB au Fonds fiduciaire pour les droits de l'homme est un signe clair de son ferme attachement aux valeurs promues par le Conseil de l'Europe et, en particulier, de son soutien au système européen de protection des droits de l'homme. Le mandat social de la CEB est intrinsèquement lié à ces valeurs."
 

Rolf Wenzel, Gouverneur de la CEB