The Chamber of Regions of the Congress works for strong democratic regions in Europe
Karl-Heinz Lambertz, President of the Association of European Border Regions (AEBR), adresses the Chamber of Regions of the Council of Europe Congress Many of the Council of Europe's member states nowadays rely on their regions for progress in terms of economic and social development, as well as deriving great benefit from their regional diversity.

Which forms of governance and regional self-government should they adopt? How can co-operation between Europe's regions be promoted? What role can intra-regional transport play in regional cohesion? How can good governance contribute to sustainable economic development in the regions? These are just a few of the subjects on which the Chamber of Regions of the Congress works.

Chamber members represent authorities at a level between central and local government which have either self-governing or state-like powers. In order to qualify regions must effectively have the capacity to take full responsibility, in the interests of their communities, for a substantial share of matters of public concern, in accordance with the principle of subsidiarity. Member states which have regions with legislative powers, in particular, should send members of those regional authorities to the Chamber of Regions.

Documents of the Chamber of Regions

Consult all the documents / Search a document


Nataliya, President of the Chamber of Regions of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of EuropeNataliya Romanova (Ukraine, ILDG) was elected on  17 October 2012 as President of the Chamber of Regions for a two years mandate
Statute within the Congress
Members of the Chamber of Regions

The Congress is composed of 318 elected reresentatives from territorial collectivities of the 47 Member States of the Council of Europe.
Composition of the Bureau
Members List

Denis HuberDenis Huber
Executive Secretary

Assistant : Thea CHUBINIDZE
+ 33 3 90 21 54 12