As a child or young person, you have all the rights and freedoms outlined in this guide. In particular, because of your age, you are entitled to special protection and guidance when using the Internet.

This means:

You have the right to freely express your views and participate in society, to be heard and to contribute to decision making on matters affecting you. Your views must be given due weight in accordance with your age and maturity and without discrimination.

You can expect to receive information in a language appropriate for your age and training from your teachers, educators and parents or guardians about safe use of the Internet, including about how to preserve your privacy.

You should be aware that content you create on the Internet or content concerning you created by other Internet users may be accessible worldwide and could compromise your dignity, security and privacy or be otherwise detrimental to you or your rights now or at a later stage in your life. Upon your request, this should be removed or deleted within a reasonably short period of time.

You can expect clear information about online content and behaviour that is illegal (for example online harassment) as well as the possibility to report alleged illegal content. This information should be adapted to your age and circumstances and you should be provided with advice and support with due respect for your confidentiality and anonymity.

You should be afforded special protection from interference with your physical, mental and moral welfare, in particular regarding sexual exploitation and abuse on the Internet and other forms of cybercrime. In particular, you have the right to education to protect yourself from such threats.

Explanatory Memo >>

Visual ID description

Internet Users Rights

In Brief
Children and young people are entitled to special protection and guidance when using the internet. If content they have published compromises their dignity, security or privacy, or can be detrimental to them in the future it should, upon their request, be deleted within a short period of time. They should also be protected from interference with their physical, mental and moral welfare, in particular regarding sexual exploitation and abuse.

Contact Us Contact Us

Les enfants et les jeunes jouissent de tous les droits et de toutes les libertés exposés dans ce guide. Si vous êtes un enfant ou un jeune, vous avez droit à une protection particulière et à un accompagnement spécifique lorsque vous naviguez sur internet.

Cela signifie que:

Vous avez le droit d’exprimer librement votre opinion, de participer à la société, d’être entendu et de contribuer aux prises de décision sur les affaires qui vous concernent. Vos opinions doivent être dûment prises en considération, eu égard à votre âge et à votre degré de maturité, et sans discrimination.

Vous pouvez vous attendre à recevoir des informations dans un langage adapté à votre âge et une formation de la part de vos enseignants, éducateurs, parents ou tuteurs sur les moyens d’utiliser internet sans risque, y compris sur la façon de protéger votre vie privée.

Vous devriez être conscients du fait que les contenus que vous créez sur internet, ou ceux créés par d’autres et qui vous concernent, peuvent être accessibles dans le monde entier et peuvent nuire à votre dignité, à votre sécurité et à votre vie privée, ou qu’ils peuvent avoir des répercussions négatives pour vous ou pour vos droits, aujourd’hui ou plus tard dans votre vie. Sur votre demande, ces contenus devraient être retirés ou supprimés dans un délai raisonnablement court.

Vous pouvez attendre des informations claires sur les contenus et les comportements interdits sur internet (par exemple le harcèlement en ligne) ainsi que sur la possibilité de signaler des contenus apparemment illicites. Cette information devrait être adaptée à votre âge et à votre situation ; et vous devriez pouvoir recevoir des conseils et de l’aide d’une manière qui respecte votre droit à la confidentialité et à l’anonymat.

Vous devriez bénéficier d’une protection spéciale contre les atteintes à votre bien-être physique, mental et moral, en particulier contre l’exploitation et les abus sexuels sur internet et d’autres formes de cybercriminalité. En particulier, vous avez le droit à l’éducation pour vous protéger de ces dangers.

Exposé des motifs >>

Visual ID description

Droits de l’homme pour les utilisateurs d’internet

En Bref
Les enfants et les adolescents ont droit à une protection et à une orientation particulière lorsqu’ils utilisent l’Internet. S’ils publient des contenus qui compromettent leur dignité, sécurité ou leur vie privée, ou si ces contenus peuvent leur nuire à l’avenir, il doit être possible, sur demande, de pouvoir être effacé assez rapidement. Ils doivent également être protégés d’éventuelles ingérences avec leur bien-être physique, mental et moral, et tout particulièrement en ce qui concerne l’exploitation sexuelle et l’abus.

Contactez-nous Contactez-nous