Non-Governmental Organisations


Strasbourg, 30 April 2009



The Sustainable Territorial Development Committee of the Conference of INGOs, meeting in Strasbourg on 28 April 2009, with Anne-Marie Chavanon in the Chair:

1. Agenda

2. Synopsis of the meeting held on 27 January 2009

    adopted the synopsis [CONF/TER(2009)SYN1]of the meeting held on 27 January 2009 unamended.

3. Debate on “Citizen participation in sustainable development”

held a discussion during this first session entitled “What mode of governance and what role for civil society?”, as part of a Round Table opened by the President of the Conference of INGOs, Jean-Marie Heydt;

held an exchange of views, introduced by the Chair, with the following contributors:

  • Alfonso Zardi, Head of the Department of Local and Regional Democracy and Good Governance, who presented the Council of Europe’s specific action in the field of local democracy;
  • Miljenco Doric, Chair of the Sub-Committee on Local and Regional Democracy of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe and MP (Croatia);
  • François Leblond, former French Regional Prefect, President of the French Confederation for Housing, Urban Development, Spatial Planning and Environment (NGO), President of the Hauts-de-Seine Departmental Council on Sustainable Development, the first advisory body of this kind in France;
  • Camille Gira, Mayor and MP of Beckerich (Luxembourg), an exemplary municipality in the field of participation and European environmental and rural development prizes.

4. Presentation of the European Local Democracy Week

  • heard a communication from Jos Lemmers, Head of the Council of Europe Department for Democratic Participation, on European Local Democracy Week to be held from 12 to 18 October 2009;
  • took note of his invitation to raise the awareness of the local authorities with which the NGOs have contacts on the ground.

5. Report on the participation of committee members in the work of other pillars of the Council of Europe and other international organisations

    took note of the reports by:

  • Georg Mäschig: Congress Seminar on cross-border cultural tourism in Eupen (Belgium);
  • Anne-Marie Chavanon: Congress Committee on Sustainable Development and Parliamentary Assembly Committee on the Environment, Agriculture and Local and Regional Affairs, CDLR;
  • Patrice Collignon: 5th Council of Europe Conference on the European Landscape Convention (Strasbourg) and meeting of experts on the drafting of the European Rural Heritage Charter to be presented in Kyiv (Ukraine) in June 2009;
  • Renée Gérard: Women and Climate Change (UN- New York);
  • Edith Wenger: World Water Forum in Istanbul (Turkey).

6. Update on current activities and projects

took note of the working groups set up on
- water and health (led by Edith Wenger)
- indoor pollution (led by Michèle Muhlmann Weill);

  • decided to support Edith Wenger’s proposal to organise, at the beginning of International Year of Biodiversity 2010, a Day common to all four pillars on the theme of biodiversity, bringing in the Bern Convention as a special partner;
  • noted that the Chair would be attending the meeting of the panel for the European Landscape Prize in Strasbourg on 7 May 2009;
  • took note of the posting of texts submitted to the committee and various working documents on the committee blog(

7. Next meetings

  • Summer session: Wednesday 24 June 2009 (1.30 pm), on the committee’s current work
  • Autumn session: Wednesday 30 September 2009 (3.30 pm), presenting the second session relating to governance on Tools for citizen participation in decision-making and monitoring of sustainable spatial development.

    Cc: Members of the Standing Committee
    Secretary General of the Parliamentary Assembly
    Secretary General of the Congress
    Secretary to the Committee of Ministers
    Directors General
    Registrar of the European Court of Human Rights
    Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe
    Director of External Relations
    Director of Strategic Planning
    Director of Communication
    Director a.i. of the Office of the Commissioner for Human Rights