Digitisation is profoundly changing our cultural experience, not only in terms of new technology-based access, production and dissemination, but also in terms of participation and creation, and learning and partaking in a knowledge society.

Digitisation must be accompanied by enlightened cultural policies, if opportunities for access and participation, individual and collective creativity are to be fully used. The 2013 Ministerial Conference on Culture highlighted the importance of users’ individual and collective needs vis-à-vis digital media. It hinted at risks for European cultural diversity and the need for adequate conditions for cultural content production and creativity in the digital age.

The Council of Europe, in partnership with its member States is dedicating itself to developing such policies by offering a multi-stakeholder platform for the exchange of experience and good practice to policy makers, leading researchers, practitioners and civil society. The platform events produce insights for policy orientations and Council of Europe guidelines to ensure democracy and human rights for citizens in the digital era. A Council of Europe Recommendation on the Internet of Citizens has been issued in February 2016. Its focus is on  (1) the modernization of cultural institutions; (2) the empowerment of citizens as consumers, creators and prosumers and (3) fostering multi-literacy skills education for access to, creation and management of digital culture. A Council of Europe Recommendation on Big Data for Culture, Literacy and Democracy was adopted in autumn 2017. It stresses, in particular,  that everyone can choose to remain inscrutable in the digital age and therefore to not have predictions made by algorithmic decision making about their cultural attributes, preferences and behaviours.

Four Platform Events were held: in Baku (2014),  Linz (2015), Tallinn (2016) and Karlsruhe (2017). The 4th Council of Europe Platform Exchange on Culture and Digitisation “Empowering Democracy through Culture – Digital Tools for Culturally Competent Citizens”  took place at the ZKM | Center for Art and Media on 19-20 October 2017 in conjunction with the exhibition “Open Code – Living in Digital Worlds”.

La numérisation modifie en profondeur notre expérience culturelle, non seulement du point de vue de l’accès, de la production et de la diffusion de la culture, qui sont conditionnés aux nouvelles technologies, mais également en termes de participation, de création et d’apprentissage dans une société de la connaissance.

La transition numérique doit être accompagnée de politiques culturelles éclairées si l’on veut que les opportunités d’accès, de participation et de créativité individuelle et collective soient pleinement mises à profit. La Conférence ministérielle de 2013 sur la culture a souligné l’importance des besoins individuels et collectifs eu égard aux médias numériques. Elle a évoqué les risques qui pèsent sur la diversité culturelle en Europe et la nécessité de conditions propices à la production de contenus culturels et à la créativité à l’ère numérique.

Le Conseil de l’Europe, en partenariat avec ses Etats membres, se consacre au développement de telles politiques en mettant à disposition une plateforme multipartite d'échanges d'expériences et de bonnes pratiques à l'intention des responsables politiques, des chercheurs de premier plan, des professionnels et de la société civile. Les manifestations de la plateforme fournissent des indications contribuant à la formulation d’orientations politiques et la production de lignes directrices du Conseil de l’Europe afin de garantir aux citoyens la démocratie et les droits de l’homme à l’ère numérique. Une Recommandation du Conseil de l’Europe sur l’internet des citoyens a été adoptée en février 2016. Elle porte principalement sur (1) la modernisation des institutions culturelles ; (2) l’autonomisation des citoyens en tant que consommateurs, créateurs et prosommateurs et (3) la promotion des compétences en translittératie pour accéder à la culture numérique, la créer et la gérer. Une Recommandation du Conseil de l’Europe sur les méga données au service de la culture, du savoir et de la démocratie a été adoptée en automne 2017. Elle souligne, en particulier, que chacun puisse choisir d’être impénétrable » à l’ère du numérique et refuser par conséquent que ses caractéristiques, préférences et comportements culturels soient prévus par des décisions algorithmiques.

Quatre éditions de la plateforme ont eu lieu à Bakou (2014), Linz (2015) et Tallinn (2016) et Karlsruhe (2017). La 4ème Plateforme sur la culture et la numérisation “Renforcer la démocratie par la culture – outils numériques pour des citoyens culturellement compétents” a lieu au Centre ZKM des Arts et Média, Karlsruhe, 19 et 20 octobre 2017, conjointement avec l’exposition “Open Code – Living in Digital Worlds” (Code ouvert - Vivre dans les mondes du numérique).