The successful cities of the future will be those best able to harness the talent and energy of their diverse citizens. A city can minimise the threats and maximise the potential of diversity by developing, negotiating and implementing a comprehensive strategy to realise its diversity advantage.

The Intercultural Cities programme helps cities to devise such strategies cutting across institutional silos and mobilising leaders, policy officers, professionals, businesses and civil society behind a new model of integration based on the mixing and interaction between people from different ethnic, religious and linguistic backgrounds.

The programme helps cities to:

  • Create a sense of pluralistic identity based on the pride and appreciation of its diverse population and minimise ethnic tension and conflict.
  • Set up a governance model empowering all members of the community, regardless of their origin or status, and thus benefit from their talents, skills and links with developing markets.
  • Break the walls between ethnic groups, build trust and thus ensure cohesion and solidarity
  • Make the public space and services accessible to all and end the vicious circle of poverty and exclusion which goes hand in hand with ethnic segregation.
  • Empower intercultural innovators in public institutions and civil society and through them ensure that policies encourage intercultural interaction.
  • Build a positive discourse and encourage a balanced approach to diversity in media to foster positive public perception of migrant and minority groups.

The Intercultural cities network provides expert and peer support to cities which chose to learn how to better manage diversity and benefit from the diversity advantage. It offers an internationally tested and validated methodology and a set of analytical and learning tools, as well as help with re-shaping city policies and services to make them more effective in a diverse context, and to engage citizens in building an understanding of their diversity as a competitive advantage.

Below is a set of examples of services and activities cities can benefit from. It should be noted, however, that the programme works in a very open, flexible way, adapting to the needs and expectations of individual cities.

examples of services and activities examples of services and activities

Social media Social media

Pour être florissantes, les villes de demain devront être capables d’exploiter le talent et l’énergie de  leurs concitoyens. Une ville peut minimiser les menaces et maximiser le potentiel de la diversité en développant, négociant et en mettant en œuvre une stratégie globale pour réaliser les avantages de sa diversité.

Le programme des cités interculturelles aide les villes à concevoir de telles stratégies en passant outre les obstacles institutionnels et en mobilisant les dirigeants, les officiers de police, les professionnels des entreprises, la société civile,  derrière un nouveau modèle d’intégration basé sur la mixité et l’interaction entre les personnes de diverses origines ethniques, religieuses et linguistiques.

Le programme aide les villes à :

  • Créer un sentiment d’identité plurielle basée sur la fierté et l’appréciation de sa population diverse et minimiser les tensions et les conflits ethniques.
  • Mettre en place un modèle responsabilisant tous les membres de la communauté, sans distinction de leurs origines ou de leur statut, bénéficiant de la sorte de leurs talents, compétences et liens avec les marchés en développement
  • Tomber les frontières entre les groupes ethniques, construire la confiance et par conséquent assurer la cohésion et la solidarité
  • Rendre l’espace et les services publics accessibles à tous et à en finir avec le cercle vicieux de la pauvreté et de l’exclusion qui va de pair avec la ségrégation ethnique
  • Soutenir les innovateurs interculturels dans les institutions publiques et la société civile et grâce à eux, s’assurer que les politiques mises en place encouragent l’interaction interculturelle
  • Construire un discours positif et encourager une approche mesurée de la diversité dans les médias pour développer la perception publique positive des migrants et des groupes minoritaires.

Le réseau des cités interculturelles fournit des conseils d’experts et de pairs aux villes  qui souhaitent apprendre à mieux gérer la diversité et profiter des avantages de la diversité. Il offre une méthodologie testée et validée internationalement  et un éventail d’outils analytiques et éducatifs,  ainsi que des aides pour redessiner les politiques et les services de la ville afin de les rendre plus efficaces dans un contexte de diversité,  et pour encourager les citoyens à considérer leur diversité comme un avantage compétitif.

Ci-dessous quelques exemples de services et d’activités dont peuvent bénéficier les villes. Il faut noter cependant que le programme fonctionne d’une manière très ouverte et flexible, en s’adaptant aux besoins et aux attentes de chaque ville.

exemples de services et d’activités exemples de services et d’activités

Médias sociaux Médias sociaux