Famagusta District is the second largest district in Cyprus covering 1,985 square km. Since 1974, the Republic of Cyprus controls only the southeast section which has four municipalities and five communities, some of which are only partly under the control of the Republic. The four municipalities under the control of the Republic of Cyprus are: Ayia Napa, Paralimni, Derynia and Sotira.

According to the 2011 census, the District of Famagusta has a total population of 46,629 inhabitants. The area includes the fertile agricultural area known as the 'red villages' (Kokkinochoria), named after the distinct red colour of the soil. The main economic sectors in the district are tourism, agriculture, construction and light industry.

 Contact the intercultural coordinator for the Famagusta District:


 29 Lykavitou Avenue (1st floor), Engomi, 2401, Nicosia, Cyprus
 (+357) 22 002100
 Contact by e-mail

Logo Cyprus regional intercultural networks