The North-South Prize is awarded each year since 1995 to two candidates (activists, personalities or organisations) who have stood out for their exceptional commitment to promoting North-South solidarity.

The candidates (if natural person, preferably a man and a woman) must have distinguished themselves in the following areas: protection of human rights, defence of pluralist democracy, public awareness raising on issues of global interdependence and solidarity. Despite the variety of nationalities and fields of action of those that have received the Prize since its creation, they all have in common a strong commitment to the promotion of North-South partnership.

Call for nomination is open for the North-South Prize of the Council of Europe 2022. 


Submit nomination (by 15 September)

2021 Laureates 2021 Laureates
For further information, you can consult the Jury’s decision.
2020 laureates 2020 laureates

Follow us Follow us




 Pictures selection 

 Contact us

+351 213 584 030

Rua São Caetano, 32

1200-829 Lisboa - PORTUGAL