08:30 – 09:00

Registration and welcome coffee

09:00 – 09:15

Opening remarks: M. Jan Kleijssen, Director of the Information Society and Action against Crime Directorate, Council of Europe

09:15- 09:30

Keynote speeches

  • Mr Chris Banatvala, Director, Bear Consultancy Ltd, UK)

Session 1: Reporting on terrorist acts and violence: dilemmas and challenges

09:30- 11:30

Panel discussion 1: Challenges and responsibilities of journalists and other media actors in their professional practice


  • Mr Chris Elliott, Journalist, The Guardian
  • Mr Jean-Pierre Jacqmin, News Director, RTBF
  • Mr John Battle, Head of Compliance at ITN
  • Mr Sébastien Georis, Journalist specialising in judicial investigations and terrorism, RTBF
  • Mr Nasreddine Louati, Program editor, Al Jazeera

Moderator: Mr. Jean-Paul Marthoz, Journalist, Author of the Handbook for journalists “Terrorism and the media” (UNESCO, 2017)

Followed by a Question & Answers session

11:30 – 11:45

Coffee break

11:45 -13:00

Panel discussion 2: Use of digital media and the rights and responsibilities of actors on the Internet



  • Mr Madjid Zerrouky, Journalist, Le Monde - international service
  • Ms Erin Marie Saltman, Policy Manager for Counterterrorism and Counter Extremism for Europe, the Middle East and Africa, Facebook
  • Mr Pierre-François Docquir, Researcher, Senior Legal Officer, Article 19
  • Mr Tom Law, Director of Campaigns and Communications, Ethical Journalism Network

Moderator: Ms Silvia Grundmann, Head of Media and Internet Division, Council of Europe

Followed by a Question & Answers session

13:00 – 14:30

Lunch break

Session 2: Striking the right balance between regulation and self-regulation

14:30 – 16:30

Panel discussion 3



  • Mr. François Jost, Professor Emeritus in Information and Communication Sciences, Sorbonne Nouvelle-Paris 3
  • Mr. Gil Moureaux, Deputy Director of European and International Affairs, CSA, France
  • Mr. Adam Baxter, Principal, Standards and Audience Protection, OFCOM, UK
  • Mr Markus Spillmann, President of the Foundation of the Swiss Media Council and Vice-President of the International Press Institute (IPI)

Moderated by: Ms Elfa Ýr Gylfadóttir, Chair of the Steering Committee on Media and Information Society (CDMSI)

Followed by a Question & Answers session

16:30 – 17:30

 Wrap-up session - Reinforcing collective commitment: how?

  • Mr Jean-Paul Marthoz, Moderator Panel discussion 1
  • Ms Silvia Grundmann, Moderator Panel discussion 2
  • Ms Elfa Ýr Gylfadóttir, Moderator Panel discussion 3

Moderated by: Ms Corina Călugăru, Ambassador, Permanent Representative of the Republic of Moldova to the Council of Europe and Thematic Co-ordinator on Information Policy (TC-INF)

Concluding remarks: M. Patrick Penninckx Head of Information Society Department, Council of Europe

18h00 - 19h30


 Strasbourg, 19 June 2017
 Council of Europe, Agora building, Room G1