The North-South Prize has been awarded every year since 1995 to two candidates : a candidate from the North and one from the South (preferably to a man and a woman).

Candidates should be recognised within the following fields of action: human rights protection, defence of pluralist democracy, promotion of public awareness about issues concerning global solidarity and interdependence, and reinforcement of the North-South partnership.

2014 Prize 2014 Prize
Award ceremony of Council of Europe North-South Prize at Assembly of Portuguese Republic
Secretary General Lisbon 1 July 2015
  • Diminuer la taille du texte
  • Augmenter la taille du texte
  • Imprimer la page
  • Imprimer en PDF
Award of the North-South Prize

Secretary General of the Council of Europe Thorbjørn Jagland is visiting Lisbon on 1 July 2015 for meetings with Portuguese President Professor Aníbal Cavaco Silva and Minister of Foreign Affairs Mr Rui Machete.

His speech at the award ceremony of the Council of Europe’s North-South Prize at the Assembly of the Portuguese Republic – the Palácio de São Bento – honours this year’s recipients Dr Maura Lynch and Andre Azoulay.

See also:
Portugal and the Council of Europe