As a follow-up of the Africa-Europe Youth Summits in 2007 and 2010, the North-South Centre of the Council of Europe developed and implemented a programme in partnership with key governmental and non-governmental actors in Africa and Europe.

The milestone in this field was the 1st Africa-Europe Youth Summit, organised in December 2007. The final declaration, presented in the Summit of Heads of State and Government called for an Africa-Europe Youth programme that would allow the exchange and capacity-building of youth organisations, creating the framework and conditions for their active participation in the development of their societies, in decision/policy-making and in the implementation of the EU-Africa Strategic partnership.

In 2008, the North-South Centre of the Council of Europe signed a Joint Management Agreement (JMA) with the European Commission (lasting from 2009 to 2015) which supported the organisation of training activities, an online resource centre, a seed funding scheme for Africa-Europe youth projects and annual meetings of the Africa-Europe Youth Platform.

This was essential for the development of an Africa-Europe dimension of the Youth Cooperation programme. The work developed during the first JMA allowed the development of sustainable partnerships and good practices between both continents and several institutions, including the African Union Commission, leading to a second JMA.

Apart from the JMA, the Centre was responsible as well for implementing Africa-Europe activities under the framework of the European Commission-Council of Europe youth partnership until 2012.

Follow us Follow us

  Facebook page




 Contact us

+351 213 584 030

Rua São Caetano, 32

1200-829 Lisboa - PORTUGAL