At the political level, the decisional body of the EUR-OPA Agreement is the Ministerial Session (which takes place in general every four years) where each State is represented by its responsible minister(s) as regards natural and technological major hazards. Circumstances and urgency however being able to justify the special convocation of the group apart from the biennial meetings.

The Ministerial Session is assisted by the Committee of Permanent Correspondents, which meets, as of 2013, once a year, where each State is represented by a Correspondent who plays the role of permanent relay between the national authorities and the Agreement.

At the scientific and technical level, the specific role of the Specialised Euro-Mediterranean Centres is to develop projects, both at the national and regional level, who aim to improve the awareness and resilience to major risks within the population.

Once per year the Meeting of the Directors of Specialised Euro-Mediterranean Centres facilitates the concrete contribution to the common objectives of the various partners through implementation of European expertise and research, training and information programmes.

Visual EUR-OPA Major Hazards

What's new
  • Joint Meeting of the Committee of Permanent Correspondents and Directors of Specialised Centres -  6-7 November 2023, Strasbourg
  • Meeting of the Bureau of the Committee of Permanent Correspondents - 14 February 2024