The Intercultural city aims at building its policies and identity on the explicit acknowledgement that diversity can be a resource for the development of the society.

The first step is the adoption (and implementation) of strategies that facilitate positive intercultural encounters and exchanges, and promote equal and active participation of residents and communities in the development of the city, thus responding to the needs of a diverse population. The Intercultural integration policy model is based on extensive research evidence, on a range of international legal instruments, and on the collective input of the cities member of the Intercultural Cities programme that share their good practice examples on how to better manage diversity, address possible conflicts, and benefit from the diversity advantage.

This section offers examples of intercultural approaches that facilitate the development and implementation of intercultural strategies.

Amadora

Zambujal Gets Better!

2016

The municipal housing stock of Amadora consists of 2052 houses across three main districts with a large number of residents of the same Cape Verdean ethnic background. Many of the residents were economically and socially excluded, Several projects for the integration of the resident population in...

Read More

Amadora Empreende

2016

The Programme “Amadora Empreende” seeks to identify, in association with the youth and people in situations of social vulnerability, individual entrepreneurial initiatives by providing the necessary conditions for developing a business idea. There are two distinct points of action: “A Incubadora...

Read More

Don’t Feed the Rumour #2

2016

As part of the campaign “Do not Feed the Rumor!” launched by Amadora’s City Council in September 2014, the city has set up a kite contest for all primary and secondary schools. The contest is held between 2 March and 30 April 2015. The contest aims to promote the appreciation of cultural...

Read More

Don’t Feed the Rumour #1

2016

In the framework of the Communication for Integration (C4i) project, the city of Amadora has been implementing a communication campaign focused on education and schools. The campaign aims to address the rumour, identified through research at the city level, that pupils with a migrant background...

Read More

Ballarat

The Harmony Fest

2016

In 2010, Ballarat promoted a unique festival to encourage its citizens to meet and get to know each other. Since then, every year during the month of March colours, music and flavours invade the city and the residents crowd streets and avenues to celebrate diversity. The Harmony Fest usually...

Read More

Multicultural Ambassadors’ Program

2016

The City of Ballarat launched its Multicultural Ambassadors’ Program (MAP) in November 2009. This program was developed in order to provide leadership within the migrant community, therefore encouraging minorities to participate in the political life of the City. Multicultural Ambassadors come...

Read More

Barcelona

When art meets interculturality

Espai Avinyó-Language and Culture Centre

28 September 2017

Espai Avinyó-Language and Culture Centre has been providing since 2011 a wide range of cultural activities aiming to be as inclusive as possible, highlighting the importance of interculturality through the masterpieces of artists coming from different cultural backgrounds. The artistic activities...

Read More

Art, music and theatre prevent social exclusion and promote the democratization of culture

Apropa Cultura

28 September 2017

Apropa Cultura is a network of cultural facilities, such as theatres, concert halls, festivals and museums, whose main purpose is to encourage inclusiveness promoting cultural activities and events. The initiative started during the season 2006/2007 when L’Auditori launched the Auditori Apropa: a...

Read More

A knowledge sharing session to keep on dismantling rumours and stereotypes

13 July 2017 Barcelona, Spain

On the 13th of July 2017, the BCN Antirumours Network training team organised a meeting with associations and experts at the Casal de Entidades Mas Guinardó with the goal of going further into concepts such as the intersectional and decolonisation perspectives. The BCN Antirumours Network is...

Read More

Municipal plan to combat Islamophobia

February 2017

Despite being a diverse city and a multicultural meeting point, Barcelona has seen an increase in hate crime and speech against Muslim population which cannot be overlooked nor tolerated. To address this problem, the city council, under the “Barcelona, City of Rights” programme, has issued in...

Read More

Barcelona City Council presents a pioneer plan to combat Islamophobia

2017

The City Council of Barcelona has presented its municipal plan to combat Islamophobia, a pioneering municipal government measure in the Spanish state which aims to guarantee social cohesion and protect human rights. The document has been discussed and agreed upon in a process involving eighty...

Read More

Do It In Barcelona

2016

Do it in Barcelona aims to attract foreign entrepreneurs to the city by providing them with support services for the development of their businesses. The programme helps newcomers by ensuring they have knowledge of the new environments in which they find themselves and the tools that can guide...

Read More

Barcelona’s Strategic Framework for Immigration and Interculturality

2016

The Barcelona Interculturality Plan (2010) was a mandate of the City Council’s Immigration Working Plan 2008 and its main goal was to define a clear intercultural policy strategy about how the city faces the challenges posed by the increase in sociocultural diversity for the next 15 years. The...

Read More

Intercultural public space

The city of Barcelona places enormous importance upon public space as the place where a diverse but harmonious community can be built. This means that place-making professionals (such as architects, planners, transport managers, constructors etc) within the city council must develop their...

Read More

XEIX

2016

The project is about fostering intercultural relations in multi-ethnic districts through raising the level of interaction of businesses with each other and their communities. The project was first implemented in 2012 in Fort Pienc, a neighbourhood with an important presence of Chinese families...

Read More

Co-existence through Education

2016

Through the project Convivència i Mediació (Co-existence and Mediation) the City of Barcelona has reorganised its school teaching service to strengthen the values that ensure coexistence in a context of cultural diversity. The new reality makes schools work to promote the values of respect for...

Read More

Centre for Linguistic Normalization

2016

The Barcelona Centre for Linguistic Normalization (CLN) welcomes over 17,000 students from 127 different countries. The classes are thus an active example of diversity and the respect of difference. It is for this reason that the CNL has adopted intercultural dialogue as one of the strategic...

Read More

Bergen

Global Future

2016

The city of Bergen was concerned to learn the findings of a survey which revealed that the ethnic background of public employees only reflected the composition of the city's population at the lower echelons. In 2013, the City Council passed an action plan called The Future Workplace which aimed...

Read More

Intercommunal mediation

2016

Bergen has introduced many initiatives to achieve its mediation and conflict resolution policy objectives. The city has set up a generalist municipal mediation service which also deals with cultural conflicts. Bergen also provides mediation services in places such as neighbourhoods, on streets,...

Read More

Action Plan for Inclusion and Diversity

2016

The city council of Bergen has formally adopted a public statement of its intentions as an Intercultural city. It has designed an integration strategy with intercultural elements and has developed an integration action plan to put it in practice. An evaluation process for the integration strategy...

Read More

La ville interculturelle construit ses politiques et son identité sur la reconnaissance explicite que la diversité peut représenter une ressource pour le développement de la société.

La première étape est donc l’adoption (et mise en œuvre) de stratégies visant à faciliter les rencontres et les échanges interculturels positifs, et promouvoir la participation active des résidents et des communautés dans le développement de la ville, en répondant aux besoins d’une population diverse. Le modèle politique d’ « intégration interculturelle » est étayé par de très nombreuses données issues de la recherche, des instruments juridiques internationaux variés, et de l’ensemble des contributions des villes membres du programme des Cités interculturelles, qui partagent leurs exemples de bonnes pratiques sur la gestion de la diversité, la résolution des conflits éventuels, et les bénéfices de l’avantage de la diversité.

Cette section offre des exemples d'approches interculturelles tendant à faciliter l'élaboration et mise en œuvre de stratégies interculturelles.

Amadora

Zambujal se porte mieux !

Le parc de logements de la ville compte 2052 maisons réparties dans trois principaux quartiers où sont concentrés de nombreux résidents appartenant au groupe ethnique cap-verdien. Beaucoup souffraient d’exclusion économique et sociale. Plusieurs projets d’intégration de cette population ont été...

Read More

Amadora Empreende

Le Programme « Amadora Empreende » vise à identifier, parmi les jeunes et les personnes en situation de vulnérabilité sociale, les initiatives entrepreneuriales individuelles en assurant les conditions nécessaires au développement des projets d’entreprise. Le programme s’articule autour de deux...

Read More

N’alimentez pas les rumeurs (n°2)

Dans le cadre de la campagne « N’alimentez pas les rumeurs ! » lancée par le conseil municipal d’Amadora en septembre 2014, la ville a organisé un concours de cerfs-volants pour tous les établissements d’enseignement primaire et secondaire. Le concours a eu lieu entre le 2 mars et le 30 avril...

Read More

N’alimentez pas les rumeurs (n°1)

Dans le cadre du projet Communication pour l’intégration (C4i), la ville d’Amadora (Portugal) a lancé une campagne de communication axée sur l’éducation et l’école. Objectif de la campagne : répondre à la rumeur, identifiée par des études menées sur la ville, qui veut que les écoliers issus de...

Read More

Ballarat

The Harmony Fest (la fête de l’harmonie)

En 2010, Ballarat a fait la promotion d’un festival unique visant à encourager ses citoyens à se rencontrer et à faire connaissance. Depuis lors, chaque année au mois de mars, la ville s’orne de couleurs, de musiques et de saveurs, et ses habitants envahissent les rues et les boulevards pour...

Read More

Programme « Ambassadeurs multiculturels »

La ville de Ballarat a lancé son programme « Ambassadeurs multiculturels » (Multicultural Ambassadors’ Program, MAP) en novembre 2009, avec pour objectif de responsabiliser la communauté immigrante et, par là même, d’encourager les minorités à participer à la vie politique locale. Les...

Read More

Barcelone

Municipal plan to combat Islamophobia

February 2017

En dépit d'être une ville diversifiée et un point de rencontre multiculturel, Barcelone a connu une augmentation des crimes et des discours haineux contre la population musulmane qui ne peut être ignorée ni tolérée. Pour résoudre ce problème, le conseil municipal a publié, en collaboration avec...

Read More

La Municipalité de Barcelone présente un plan novateur pour combattre l’islamophobie

2017

La Municipalité de Barcelone a présenté son plan municipal de lutte contre l’islamophobie, mesure novatrice de l’administration municipale espagnole qui vise à garantir la cohésion sociale et à protéger les droits de l'homme. Le document a été examiné et approuvé dans le cadre d’un processus...

Read More

Le projet « Do It In Barcelona »

Le projet « Do it in Barcelona » vise à attirer des entrepreneurs étrangers en offrant des services d’aide au développement des entreprises. Le programme permet aux nouveaux arrivants de découvrir leur nouvel environnement et les outils pouvant contribuer à leur réussite. Mis en place en 2009 par...

Read More

Cadre stratégique de Barcelone pour l’immigration et l’inter-culturalité

Le Plan interculturel de Barcelone (2010), adopté par le conseil municipal dans le cadre du plan de travail pour l’immigration de 2008, visait essentiellement à définir clairement une stratégie interculturelle pour les 15 ans à suivre en matière de diversité socioculturelle. L’élaboration du plan...

Read More

Espace public interculturel

La ville de Barcelone attache une énorme importance à l’espace public, le considérant comme le lieu où construire une communauté diverse mais harmonieuse. En d’autres termes, au sein du conseil municipal, les professionnels de la création d’espaces (par exemple, architectes, urbanistes,...

Read More

XEIX

Le projet consiste à favoriser les relations interculturelles dans les quartiers multiethniques en amplifiant le niveau d’interaction des entreprises entre elles et avec leurs collectivités. Le projet a été mis en œuvre en 2012 à Fort Pienc, quartier à forte présence de familles chinoises (18 %...

Read More

Coexistence par l’éducation

Avec le projet Convivència i Mediació (coexistence et médiation), la municipalité de Barcelone a réorganisé son service d’enseignement scolaire, renforçant les valeurs qui assurent une coexistence pacifique dans le cadre de la diversité culturelle. Face à la nouvelle réalité, les écoles...

Read More

Centre de normalisation linguistique

Le Centre de normalisation linguistique (CLN) de Barcelone accueille plus de 17 000 étudiants venant de 127 pays. Les cours sont donc un exemple actif de diversité et du respect de la différence. C’est pourquoi le CNL a adopté le dialogue interculturel comme l’une des valeurs stratégiques de son...

Read More

Bergen

Global Future

La ville de Bergen a été consternée d’apprendre les résultats d’une enquête qui montrait que l’origine ethnique des agents publics ne reflétait la composition de la population de la ville qu’aux plus bas échelons. En 2013, pour s’attaquer à ce problème, le conseil municipal a adopté un plan...

Read More

Médiation intercommunale

Bergen a lancé de nombreuses initiatives pour réaliser les objectifs de sa politique de médiation et de résolution des conflits. La ville a mis en place un service municipal de médiation à caractère généraliste qui s’occupe aussi des conflits culturels. Bergen propose également des services de...

Read More

Plan d’action pour l’inclusion et la diversité

Le conseil municipal a officiellement déclaré la ville de Bergen « cité interculturelle ». Il a élaboré une stratégie d’intégration comportant des éléments interculturels ainsi qu’un plan d’action pour la mettre en œuvre. Il a également prévu un processus d’évaluation de la stratégie...

Read More

INN Bergen

Souvent, les nouveaux arrivants réinstallés en Norvège laissent derrière eux un réseau de relations de confiance. L’objectif du projet est de les aider à recréer un nouveau réseau en Norvège. Un bon emploi ne suffit pas toujours. Pour les aider à construire ce réseau, l’association INN...

Read More

FIKS Bergen

L’initiative FIKS Bergen encourage les clubs sportifs à coopérer afin d’inclure dans leurs activités les personnes issues de l’immigration. Ainsi sont organisés des projets scolaires, des cours de natation, des activités récréatives et divers événements autour des quartiers. Le service des sports...

Read More

Fargespill (Kaléidoscope)

Le projet Fargespill s’intéresse à la rencontre des différences à travers la musique et la danse traditionnelles : une danse traditionnelle éthiopienne rencontre le « gangar » norvégien ; Mogadishu rencontre Kollywood ; « fallturillturalltura » rencontre « habibi habibi ». Des comptines du monde...

Read More

Résultats 1 - 20 sur 132 résultats