North-South Centre - European Centre for Global Interdependence and Solidarity

20th anniversary of the North-South Centre

Twenty years ago, on February 23rd 1990, the meeting of « Representatives of Governments sharing an interest in the European Centre for Global Interdependence and Solidarity » met in Lisbon.

During the meeting, the 10 founder Member States of the NSC (Cyprus, France, Italy, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, San Marino and Spain) agreed that NSC activities should have a strong educational dimension and that adequate attention should be given to human rights and democracy. They designated the following eight Governments to appoint a Representative to the Executive Council of the Centre on a provisional basis for 1990 : Cyprus, France, Italy, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, San Marino and Spain. It was decided that, in 1990, the number of regular staff of the Centre would be provisionally fixed at a level of four persons. The Portuguese Minister of Foreign Affairs, Mr João de Deus Pinheiro, also serving President of the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe, announced the decision of the Portuguese Government to give an additional contribution of one million French Francs for the year 1990.

At their next meeting, on March 14th, the Representatives of member States fixed the upper limits of the ordinary budget of the Centre (2.000.000 French Francs for the period of May-December 1990). In 1990, the Representatives of member States held four sessions in the context of the NSC launch.

On the occasion of the 20th anniversary of the first meeting of the member States Representatives, the NSC would like to thank its member States, particularly Portugal,which
was behind the Centre’s creation and chaired the Committee of Ministers when the NSC was set up, for their support and contribution.

Adopted decisions
Member States

Avenida da República, 15 - 4°
1050-185 Lisboa, Portugal
Tel.: +351 21 358 40 30
Fax: +351 21 358 40 37