Jobst Plog : President since 20 November 2009

Born in 1941, Jobst Plog worked as a lawyer in Hanover until 1977, when he was appointed legal advisor to the Norddeutscher Rundfunk (NDR). He was appointed Deputy Managing Director of NDR in 1980 and then Managing Director in 1991.

From 1993 to 1994, Jobst Plog was President of ARD – a consortium of Germany's regional public-service broadcasters. In 2003 and 2004, he was reappointed President of ARD.

But Jobst Plog exercised many other duties, notably at an international level. From 1980 until the end of 1991 he was Chair of the General Assembly of Degeto Film GmbH (subsidiary of ARD), and then Chairman of the Supervisory Board from 1995 to 1999. At the same time, he represented ARD on the Supervisory Board of the Filmförderungsanstalt (the German national film production support fund). Between March 1995 and December 2008, he was Chairman of the Supervisory Board of Studio Hamburgs-Atelier GmbH, a leading German production and service company for the film and television industry. From 1993 to December 1998, he was President of the General Assembly of ARTE G.E.I.E., which led him to being elected President of the Franco-German Channel in October 1998. Jobst Plog exercised these functions from January 1999 until December 2002. He remained linked to ARTE, however, because, in January 2003, he was re-elected President of the General Assembly of ARTE G.E.I.E. for a further four-year term and he has continued as Vice President since 2007.

In 1998, Jobst Plog was nominated “Chevalier” of the French Legion of Honour for his decisive role in the success of the ARTE channel. Then the German President awarded him the "Bundesverdienstkreuz 1. Klasse" in 1999. In December 2002, he was named “Commandeur des Arts et les Lettres”, the  highest distinction of this French Order. In 2005, Jobst Plog, Dieter Stolte, former President of ZDF, and Jérôme Clément, President of ARTE, were awarded the Franco-German Prize for Journalism for their commitment to the Franco-German cultural channel. Finally, he became “Officer” of the Legion of Honour in November 2007.

In 2001, the City of Hamburg appointed him Honorary Professor. He teaches Audiovisual Law at the University of Rostock.

Jobst Plog has been re-elected President of the Eurimages Fund for a third two-year term until 19 November 2015.

Eurimages contact:

Conseil de l'Europe -
F-67075 Strasbourg Cedex
00 33 3 88 41 26 40
00 33 3 88 41 27 60 // 00 33 3 88 41 37 73


22/10/2013 -  Jobst Plog re-elected for a third mandate as President of Eurimages - During its 132nd meeting in Vilnius (Lithuania) on 15-17 October 2013, the Eurimages Board of Management decided to renew once again the mandate of its President Mr Jobst Plog for a second two-year term until 19 November 2015. (Press Release)

19/03/2013 - We have to accept that people are different - With the new online application system, a paperless era begins at Eurimages. The European Cinema Support Fund for Co-Productions will no longer accept paper applications – the new system will be available on the Eurimages web site from 3 April 2013. Eurimages will also be launching a new support programme for distribution and marketing – President Jobst Plog explains why he believes that it will not work in Europe to set only one standard. Interview with Mr Jobst Plog.

13/12/2011 - Eurimages mooting idea of associate membership for the likes of South Africa, Argentina
- The Council of Europe’s European Cinema Support Fund Eurimages is exploring the possibility of extending membership to countries as far afield as South Africa and Argentina. (interview with the President of the Fund, Mr Jobst Plog)

25/10/2011 - Jobst Plog re-elected as President of Eurimages

During its 124th meeting in Dublin (Ireland) on 18-20 October 2011, the Eurimages Board of Management decided to renew the mandate of its President Mr Jobst Plog for a second two-year term until 19 November 2013.

“I would like to thank the Board of Management for its renewed support. I will now continue to work, as I already have been doing over the past two years since I took up this post, in close collaboration and in total synergy with the Board of Management and the Eurimages Secretariat.” he said.

Former Presidents and Executive Directors

Press releases