The work of the Committee is prepared by the Bureau. 
The Bureau consists of a Chairperson, a Vice-Chairperson and three other members, elected by the Committee from among the delegations enjoying voting rights in the Committee. The mandate of the members of the Bureau is two years, renewable once.

The current Bureau is composed as follows:

Director of the Financial Inteligence UnitChairman

Daniel Thelesklaf (Director of the Financial Intelligence Unit (FIU) of Liechtenstein, Chair of the national AML/CFT working group)

He has 20 years of experience in Anti-Money Laundering (AML), Combatting the Financing of Terrorism (CFT) and Anti-Corruption work.

After a career in the private sector as Head of Legal and Compliance in a Swiss bank, he joined the Federal Office for Police in 1998 to become the first Director of the Swiss FIU. In 2001, he was appointed as Director of the Liechtenstein supervisory agency responsible for AML/CFT.  After that, he worked as consultant in various anti-money laundering, anti-terrorist financing and anti-corruption projects and technical assistance missions - mainly in the Caribbean, Eastern and Central Europe and in various Central Asian countries - for the Council of Europe, the IMF, the UN and the OECD. From 2008-2011, he was Executive Director of the Basel Institute on Governance and supervised the activities of the International Centre for Asset Recovery. From 2005-2015, he acted as Chair of the Anti-Corruption Network (ACN) of the OECD. From 2012-2015, he was also the Chair of the Egmont Training Working Group and a member of the Egmont Committee.


Working groups

According to its Statute, MONEYVAL may set up working groups and sub-groups whenever deemed necessary for the undertaking of its activities. For the purposes of the 5th round of evaluations, the work of the Committee shall be supported by the following working groups:

Ad Hoc Group of Experts

The primary function of Ad Hoc Groups of Experts is to ensure mutual evaluation reports are of an acceptable level of quality and consistency. An Ad Hoc Group of Experts will be established for each mutual evaluation to assist the assessors, the plenary, the Chairman and the Secretariat in the mutual evaluation process and act as a reviewer. The Ad Hoc Group of Experts shall be composed of qualified volunteer experts, including experts from MONEYVAL, FATF, IFIs, other FSRBs (including their secretariat members), based on nomination proposals. Each Ad Hoc Group shall include at least one external reviewer.   

Advisory Group on Policy and Evaluations 

The Advisory Group on Policy and Evaluations is established to provide to the Chair and Bureau of MONEYVAL specific advice on aspects related to AML/CFT policies and evaluations, with a view to further enhancing the quality of MONEYVAL’s contributions to the work of the global AML/CFT network and the efficiency of MONEYVAL’s evaluation processes and outputs. The Group shall be composed of up to 10 experts from MONEYVAL states and territories and observers. The work of the Group is coordinated by a Chair, who shall be appointed for a renewable mandate of two years.   

Working Group on Evaluations 

The Working Group on Evaluations shall assist MONEYVAL by preparing the plenary discussion and proposing solutions to the Plenary on technical and some other significant issues with regard to mutual evaluation reports.  In particular, before each report is due to be discussed in Plenary, the Working Group shall prepare jointly with the Secretariat a list of substantive issues to be discussed in its respect. Participation in the Working Group on Evaluations is open to one representative from each MONEYVAL country/territory and one representative from each observer to MONEYVAL. Meetings of the WGE will also involve participation of members of the evaluation team, the assessed jurisdiction’s delegation, reviewers, chairman of MONEYVAL and MONEYVAL scientific experts. The group shall be co-chaired by a MONEYVAL scientific expert and an expert from a MONEYVAL Member State or territory.

Scientific experts

  • Dr Lajos Korona, Public Prosecutor, Metropolitan Prosecutor's Office, Budapest, Hungary – Legal scientific expert
  • Mr Boudewijn Verhelst, Deputy Director of CTIF-CFI, and Attorney General in Belgium – Law enforcement scientific expert
  • Mr Andrew Strijker, former Head of the Dutch delegation to FATF – Financial scientific expert with special responsibility for the EU Directives         
  • Mr Andrew Le Brun, Director - Financial Crime Policy, Jersey Financial Services Commission – Financial scientific expert
  • Mr John Ringguth LLB, Barrister-at-law (Gray's Inn), former Head of Prosecution Policy, Crown Prosecution Service, England and Wales - Legal scientific expert