Back

Big Data: we need to protect the persons behind the data

Big Data is changing the manner in which the society can be understood. It provides valuable insights and offers opportunities for innovation, enhancing productivity and social participation.
Big Data: we need to protect the persons behind the data

Strasbourg, 24.01.2017:

The nature of Big Data may make very challenging the application of traditional principles of personal data protection, such as purpose limitation or data minimisation. We must ensure that when Big Data involves the processing of personal data, each of us is in a position to exercise our personal autonomy and our right to control our data.

The Guidelines on Big Data adopted by the Consultative Committee of the Council of Europe´s data protection convention (Convention for the Protection of Individuals with regard to Automatic Processing of Personal Data, also known as Convention 108) will provide valuable assistance to policy makers and to organisations processing personal data to ensure that persons are placed at the centre of our digital economies.

Alessandra Pierucci, Chairperson of the Committee of Convention 108 highlighted “the importance of providing guidance on what has become in the past years an exponential source of knowledge, and an exponential source of processing of personal data. This first step of the Committee towards a stronger protection of persons in our big data environment will have to lead to further steps, to follow the fast pace evolution of big data related technologies”.


Protecting private life

You go somewhere, you buy something, you apply for a job, you pay your bills : you live... and at each of those moments of your life, your personal information is used, collected, processed. In order to protect your right to private life, with regard to the automatic processing of your personal data, the Council of Europe elaborated the "Convention for the Protection of Individuals with regard to Automatic Processing of Personal Data".

Thirty years after its entry into force, this Convention still remains the only binding international legal instrument in the field, with a potential worldwide scope of application.

 

 

Beyond

The Council of Europe has released this hard-hitting short film to highlight the dangers posed by those who wish to illegally obtain private data.

The film shows a data intruder running through a building and downloading one victim's personal data at home, another's medical records during an examination by a doctor and a third victim's bank details during a transaction at his bank. It ends with a reminder that the Council of Europe has a convention on data protection.

Convention 108+ Convention for the protection of individuals with regard to the processing of personal data

 Know more on the modernised Convention 108

 Link to the document

Handbook on European data protection law - 2018 edition


Handbook on European data protection law

The rapid development of information technology has exacerbated the need for robust personal data protection, the right to which is safeguarded by both European Union (EU) and Council of Europe (CoE) instruments. Safeguarding this important right entails new and significant challenges as technological advances expand the frontiers of areas such as surveillance, communication interception and data storage. This handbook is designed to familiarise legal practitioners not specialised in data protection with this emerging area of the law. It provides an overview of the EU’s and the CoE’s applicable legal frameworks. It also explains key case law, summarising major rulings of both the Court of Justice of the European Union and the European Court of Human Rights. In addition, it presents hypothetical scenarios that serve as practical illustrations of the diverse issues encountered in this ever-evolving field.

Download the Handbook 

SaveSaveSaveSaveSaveSaveSaveSave

Upcoming events

Calendar of events 2018

Committee of Convention 108

36th Plenary meeting
Strasbourg, 19-21 June 2018

45th Bureau meeting
Paris, 24-26 September 2018

SaveSaveSave

ECHR Factsheets

 Personal data protection

 New technologies

SaveSaveSaveSave

Documentation

Reports

Articles, speeches and presentations

SaveSaveSaveSave
 Contact usSave

Retour

Les mégadonnées : derrière les données il faut protéger les personnes

Les mégadonnées (Big data) changent notre façon de comprendre la société. Elles révèlent des perspectives nouvelles et offrent des opportunités en matière d’innovation, d’amélioration de la productivité et de participation sociale.
Les mégadonnées : derrière les données il faut protéger les personnes

Strasbourg, le 24.01.2017:

La nature des mégadonnées risque de poser un véritable défi à l’application des principes traditionnels qui gouvernent la protection des données personnelles, comme le principe de finalité ou de minimisation des données. Chaque fois que les méga données entraînent un traitement des données personnelles, chacun doit être en position d’exercer son autonomie personnelle et son droit à contrôler ses données.

Les Lignes directrices, adoptées par le Comité consultatif de la Convention du Conseil de l’Europe sur la protection des données (Convention pour la protection des personnes à l’égard du traitement automatisé des données à caractère personnel, également connue sous l'intitulé de "Convention 108") offrent aux décideurs politiques et aux organismes qui traitent les données personnelles une assistance précieuse pour veiller à ce qu’ils mettent l’individu au centre des économies numériques.

Alessandra Pierucci, Présidente du Comité de la Convention 108, a souligné « l’importance de fournir des orientations sur ce qui est devenu, ces dernières années, une source exponentielle de connaissances ainsi qu’une source exponentielle de traitement des données personnelles. Cette première étape du Comité vers une protection renforcée des personnes dans l’environnement de mégadonnées qui est le nôtre devra conduire vers d’autres étapes afin de suivre le rythme d’évolution rapide des technologies sur lesquelles reposent les mégadonnées » 


Protection de la vie privée

Vous vous rendez quelque part, faites vos courses, postulez pour un emploi, payez vos factures : vous vivez... et, à chacun de ces moments de votre vie, des informations personnelles qui vous concernent sont recueillies, utilisées et traitées.  Afin de protéger votre droit à la vie privée, à l'égard du traitement automatisé de vos données personnelles, le Conseil de l'Europe a élaboré la "Convention pour la protection des personnes à l'égard du traitement automatisé des données à caractère personnel".

Trente ans après son entrée en vigueur cette convention reste, à ce jour, le seul instrument juridique international contraignant dans le domaine, de portée potentiellement mondiale.

 

 

Beyond

Ce court métrage percutant réalisé par le Conseil de l'Europe met l'accent sur les dangers constitués par les pirates du web qui veulent obtenir des données personnelles illégalement grâce à l’informatique.

Le film montre un intrus courant dans un immeuble et téléchargeant les données personnelles d'une victime, l'enregistrement de données médicales d'une autre lors d'une consultation chez un médecin et les détails bancaires d'une troisième victime lors d'une transaction effectuée à sa banque. Le film se termine par le rappel de l'existence de la Convention du Conseil de l'Europe sur la protection des données.

Manuel de droit européen en matière de protection des donnéesManuel de droit européen en matière de protection des données

Ce manuel est un guide détaillé sur la loi européenne en matière de protection des données. Il vise à familiariser les professionnels du droit qui ne sont pas spécialisés dans le domaine de la protection des données à ce dernier. Il fournit un aperçu des cadres juridiques de l’Union européenne et du Conseil de l’Europe et explique les points clés de la jurisprudence de la Cour européenne des droits de l’homme et de la Cour de justice de l’Union européenne.

Il est disponible en plusieurs langues: DEU - BGR - ROK - HRV - DNK - SPA - EST - FIN - GEO - GRC - HUN - ITA - LVA - LTU - NLD - POL - PRT - ROU - SVK - SVN - SWE - CZE - UKR.

Vous pouvez obtenir des versions imprimées sur le site EU Bookshop: http://bookshop.europa.eu

SaveSaveSaveSaveSave

A venir

Calendrier des activités 2018  

44éme réunion du Bureau (T-PD-BUR)
Paris, 26-28 mars 2018

36ème réunion plénière (T-PD)
Strasbourg, 19-21 juin 2018

45ème réunion du Bureau (T-PD-BUR)
Paris, 24-26 septembre 2018

SaveSaveSave

Fiches thématiques CEDH

Protection des données personnelles

Nouvelles technologies

SaveSaveSaveSave

Documentation

Rapports

Articles, discours et présentations

SaveSaveSaveSaveSave