The European Union/Council of Europe joint programmeCentral Asia Rule of Law Programme” (2020-2024*) was signed on 28 November 2019 in Nur-Sultan, Kazakhstan. The Programme covers all five countries of the region – Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan – and is in line with the Council of Europe Policy towards neighbouring regions that seeks to facilitate democratic political transition; to help to promote good governance, on the basis of the relevant Council of Europe standards, mechanisms and instruments; and to reinforce and enlarge the Council of Europe regional action in combating trans-border and global threats.

This Programme aims to reinforce human rights, rule of law and democracy in accordance with European and other international standards, based on a demand-driven approach. The Programme is open to all Central Asian countries wishing to benefit from the Council of Europe expertise and meeting the conditions for co-operation as stipulated in the Council of Europe Policy for neighbouring regions. The Programme is implemented by the Council of Europe in close collaboration with national partners.

Another European Union/Council of Europe joint programme “Support to reforms of electoral legislation and practice and regional Human Rights instruments and mechanisms in countries of Latin America, Central Asia and Mongolia” is also being implemented. In the framework of this programme, Central Asian countries benefit from support on electoral matters.

*The Programme was extended until June 2024.