2020 Session of the Committee of Ministers

Athens - 4 November 2020

On 22 April 2020, the Deputies agreed to postpone the 130th Session of the Committee of Ministers from 15 May to 4 November 2020, and to hold it in Athens (Greece), in the framework of the Greek Chairmanship, subject to any developments in the situation with respect to the COVID-19 pandemic.


2019 Session of the Committee of Ministers

Finlandia Hall, Helsinki, Finland - 16‑17 May 2019

The Committee of Ministers met for its 129th Session in Helsinki (Finland) on 16 and 17 May 2019.

The Prime Minister of Finland, Mr Juha Sipilä, opened the Session, which was chaired by Mr Timo Soini, Finnish Minister for Foreign Affairs and Chair of the Committee of Ministers.

The Session was an opportunity for the Committee of Ministers to adopt a Declaration marking the 70th anniversary of the Council of Europe and reaffirming the importance of the Organisation as a unique Pan-European platform for dialogue and co-operation. It also enabled the Committee to adopt important decisions for the future of the Organisation with a view to ensuring respect for rights and obligations, principles, standards and values of the Council of Europe.

The Committee of Ministers decided on measures to strengthen the protection and promotion of the space reserved for civil society in Europe. It further instructed its Deputies to give appropriate follow-up to the proposals contained in the Secretary General's report "Meeting the challenges ahead - Strengthening the Council of Europe" and called for strengthening the Council of Europe’s achievements by addressing some of the major challenges (artificial intelligence, human trafficking, freedom of expression, inequality and discrimination, migration, social rights, combating violence against women and domestic violence), setting strategic objectives to meet the challenges ahead, at ensuring the sustainability of the Organisation and to continue the ongoing reforms structural and administrative issues.

The Ministers held two informal working sessions respectively entitled “Current challenges to the future of the Council of Europe” and “Fighting inequalities and protecting social rights in Europe”.

Finally, the Committee of Ministers examined questions on measures to secure the long-term effectiveness of the system of the European Convention on Human Rights, the Council of Europe's policy towards neighbouring regions and co-operation between the Council of Europe and the European Union.

All the decisions taken by the Committee of Ministers are available in document CM/PV(2019)129-add.

At the end of the Session, the outgoing Chairman, Mr Timo Soini, took stock of his country’s Presidency. Ms Amélie de Montchalin, France’s Secretary of State for European Affairs, then outlined the priorities of the incoming French Presidency. (More information ....)