Interparliamentary Conference on the European Social Charter & Turin Forum on Social Rights in Europe (TURIN 2)

Turin process
Turin, Italy 17-18/03/2016
  • Diminuer la taille du texte
  • Augmenter la taille du texte
  • Imprimer la page
  • Imprimer en PDF
Interparliamentary Conference on the European Social Charter & Turin Forum on Social Rights in Europe (TURIN 2)

The Italian Chamber of Deputies, the City of Turin and the Council of Europe organised an Interparliamentary Conference of the 47 Council of Europe member States on the European Social Charter in Turin on 17 March 2016.

The Interparliamentary Conference provided an eminent setting for the competent parliamentary representatives to discuss the question of the implementation of these fundamental rights guaranteed by the European Social Charter at national level in the current international context. The processes of ratifying the revised version of this treaty and the protocol on the collective complaints procedure, consideration of the Charter’s provisions in the context of the national legislative process, and also the results of the monitoring activities of the European Committee of Social Rights, formed the main focus of the Conference. The topic of social policies in a ‘post-crisis’ environment, taking account of the challenges linked with globalisation and the need to promote more cohesive and inclusive societies in Europe, underpinned by fundamental rights, democratic security and rule of law was also on the agenda of the Conference.

Following the Interparliamentary Conference, a public Forum on the theme of social rights in Europe was held in Turin on 18 March. The Forum represented an opportunity to take stock of the implementation of social rights in Europe, having regard to the main challenges in the present international context and to the risks to democratic security of societies in which these fundamental rights are not fully guaranteed.

Conférence interparlementaire sur la Charte sociale européenne & Forum de Turin sur les droits sociaux en Europe (TURIN 2)

Processus de Turin
Turin, Italie 17-18/03/2016
  • Diminuer la taille du texte
  • Augmenter la taille du texte
  • Imprimer la page
  • Imprimer en PDF
Conférence interparlementaire sur la Charte sociale européenne & Forum de Turin sur les droits sociaux en Europe (TURIN 2)

La Chambre italienne des Députés, la Ville de Turin, et le Conseil de l’Europe ont organisé le 17 mars 2016, à Turin, une Conférence interparlementaire des 47 Etats membres du Conseil de l’Europe consacrée à la Charte sociale européenne.

La Conférence a fourni aux parlementaires concernés un cadre de discussion privilégié sur la question de la mise en œuvre des droits de la Charte sociale européenne au plan national. Elle a été principalement centrée sur les processus de ratification de la version révisée de ce traité et du Protocole prévoyant un système de réclamations collectives, l’examen des dispositions de la Charte dans le cadre du processus législatif interne, tout comme des résultats des activités de suivi du Comité européen des Droits sociaux. Le thème des politiques sociales de « l’après-crise », en tenant compte des défis liés à la mondialisation et à la nécessité de promouvoir une société européenne plus solidaire et inclusive, reposant sur les droits fondamentaux, la sécurité démocratique et l’Etat de droit était aussi à l'ordre du jour de la Conférence.

Le lendemain de la Conférence, s'est tenu le 18 mars à Turin un Forum public consacré aux droits sociaux en Europe. Le Forum a permis de faire le point sur la mise en œuvre des droits sociaux en Europe, en tenant compte des principaux défis liés à l’actualité internationale et des risques pour la sécurité démocratique de sociétés où ces droits fondamentaux ne sont pas pleinement garantis.