The Mutual Information System on Social Protection of the Council of Europe (MISSCEO) started its work in 1999 and aims to promote a regular exchange of information on social protection in member states of the Council of Europe that are not members of the EU's MISSOC network.

The MISSCEO network is based on the close co-operation between the national correspondents and the Department of Social Rights of the Council of Europe. It is composed of 11 member States of the Council of Europe: Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Georgia, Moldova, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Serbia, Türkiye, Ukraine.

MISSCEO produces regularly updated comparatives tables on social protection systems under the form of database which has been updated with the 2022 data. The update for 2023 will be done at the beginning of 2024. The information is available in both pdf and excel format.

It also identifies recent trends and developments in social protection across the MISSCEO countries (MISSCEO Info 2023). 

The comparative tables summarise the social protection legislation using a set of standardised descriptors. They form an essential complement to the comparative tables of the MISSOC, Mutual Information System on Social Protection in the member states of the EU, the EEA and in Switzerland.

MISSCEO provides information on national social protection systems in the countries concerned.

MISSCEO database


The EU's Mutual Information System on Social Protection (MISSOC) provides information about national social protection systems in 31 countries: the 27 EU Member States plus Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland.


Department of Social Rights

Directorate General of Human Rights and Rule of Law
Council of Europe
1, quai Jacoutot
F – 67075 Strasbourg Cedex

Tél. +33 (0)3 90 21 49 61



Contact us