Skip to Content
Avenue de l'Europe
F-67075 Strasbourg Cedex
Tel. +33 (0)3 88 41 20 00
www.coe.int
menu

The European Social Charter

THE CHARTER AT A GLANCE THE CHARTER AT A GLANCE

The European Social Charter is a Council of Europe treaty that guarantees fundamental social and economic rights as a counterpart to the European Convention on Human Rights, which refers to civil and political rights. It guarantees a broad range of everyday human rights related to employment, housing, health, education, social protection and welfare.

The Charter lays specific emphasis on the protection of vulnerable persons such as elderly people, children, people with disabilities and migrants. It requires that enjoyment of the abovementioned rights be guaranteed without discrimination.

No other legal instrument at pan-European level can provide such an extensive and complete protection of social rights as that provided by the Charter, which also serves as a point of reference in European Union law; most of the social rights in the EU Charter of Fundamental Rights are based on the relevant articles of the Charter.

The Charter is therefore seen as the Social Constitution of Europe and represents an essential component of the continent’s human rights architecture.

The 7th edition of the Collected texts provides an updated account of all of the relevant instruments of the Charter, and the functioning of the various bodies which participate in the monitoring procedures.

More information about the European Social Charter

focus focus

The European Commission adopts its European Pillar of Social Rights

28/04/2017 Brussels, Belgium

The European Commission adopted its proposal for the “European Pillar of Social Rights”. This pillar sets out 20 principles and rights to support fair and well-functioning labour markets and welfare systems. It is designed as a compass for a renewed process of upward convergence towards better...

Read More

Secretary General’s Opinion on the European Pillar of Social Rights

20/01/2017 Strasbourg, France

Secretary General Thorbjørn Jagland has published today his Opinion on the European Union initiative to establish a European Pillar of Social Rights. In his letter to the President of the European Commission, Jean-Claude Juncker, Council of Europe Secretary General highlighted the fact that this...

Read More

Upcoming events Upcoming events
direct access direct access
new publication new publication

Twitter Twitter

Saut au contenu
Avenue de l'Europe
F-67075 Strasbourg Cedex
Tel. +33 (0)3 88 41 20 00
www.coe.int
menu

La Charte sociale européenne

La Charte en bref La Charte en bref

La Charte sociale européenne est un traité du Conseil de l'Europe qui garantit les droits sociaux et économiques fondamentaux, qui est le pendant de la Convention européenne des droits de l'homme, qui se réfère aux droits civils et politiques. Elle garantit un large éventail de droits de l'homme de tous les jours liés à l'emploi, au logement, à la santé, à l'éducation, à la protection sociale et aux services sociaux.

La Charte met l'accent sur la protection des personnes vulnérables comme les personnes âgées, les enfants, les personnes handicapées et les migrants. Elle exige que la jouissance de ces droits le soit de manière non-discriminatoire.

Aucun autre instrument juridique au niveau pan-européen ne fournit une protection aussi étendue et complète des droits sociaux que celle prévue par la Charte, qui sert aussi de point de référence pour le droit de l’Union européenne ; la plupart des droits sociaux de la Charte des droits fondamentaux de l’Union européenne sont basés sur des articles de la Charte.

La Charte est dès lors considérée comme la Constitution sociale de l'Europe et représente une composante essentielle de l'architecture des droits de l’homme sur le continent.

La 7ème édition du Recueil de textes fournit une information actualisée sur l’ensemble des instruments de la Charte et sur le fonctionnement des différents organes participant au mécanisme de contrôle de son application.

En savoir plus sur la Charte sociale européenne

focus focus

La Commission européenne adopte son Socle européen des droits sociaux

28/04/2017 Bruxelles, Belgium

La Commission européenne a adopté sa proposition relative au « Socle européen des droits sociaux ». Ce socle contient 20 principes et droits devant contribuer au bon fonctionnement et à l'équité des marchés du travail et des systèmes de protection sociale. Il a été conçu pour indiquer la...

Read More

Avis du Secrétaire Général sur le Socle européen des droits sociaux

20/01/2017 Strasbourg, France

Le Secrétaire Général Thorbjørn Jagland publie aujourd’hui son Avis sur l’initiative visant la mise en place d’un Socle européen des droits sociaux par l’Union européenne. Dans sa lettre au président de la Commission européenne, Jean-Claude Juncker, le Secrétaire Général du Conseil de l’Europe a...

Read More

accès direct accès direct
nouvelle publication nouvelle publication

Twitter Twitter