Council of Europe Convention
Signatures and ratifications
Text of the Convention
Monitoring mechanism
About monitoring
Committee of the Parties
About evaluations
Country monitoring work
Country profiles
Information for contact persons
Country reports
General reports
Comic strip
Other activities
 Capacity buiding
Web Resources
GRETA Restricted access
Reset password
Committee of the Parties Restricted access

Status of Signature and Ratification of the Convention
(entered into force 1 February 2008) 

44 ratifications/accessions

1 signature not followed by ratification

The Council of Europe Convention on Action against Trafficking in Human Beings [CETS No. 197] was adopted by the Committee of Ministers on 3 May 2005 and opened for signature in Warsaw on 16 May 2005, on the occasion of the 3rd Summit of Heads of State and Government of the Council of Europe member states.


Council of Europe member States which have ratified the convention: Albania, Andorra, Armenia,  Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Finland France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania Luxembourg, Malta, Republic of MoldovaMonaco, Montenegro, the Netherlands, Norway Poland, Portugal,  Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, SwedenSwitzerland, "the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia", Ukraine and the United Kingdom.

Belarus became the first non member state to accede to the convention on 26 November 2013.

Signatures not followed by ratification

One Council of Europe member State has signed but not yet ratified the convention: Turkey.

For more information on a specific country click on the country's flag (alphabetical order).

Albania: ratified 6 February 2007 Andorra: ratified 23 March 2011 Armenia: ratified 14 April 2008 Austria: ratified 12 October 2006 Azerbaijan: ratified 23 June 2010 Belgium: ratified 27 April 2009 Bosnia and Herzegovina: ratified 11 January 2008
Bulgaria: ratified 17 April 2007 Croatia: ratified 5 September 2007 Cyprus: ratified 24 October 2007 Czech Republic: unsigned Denmark: ratified 19 September 2007 Estonia: signed 5 February 2015 Finland:ratified 30 May 2012
France: ratified 9 January 2008 Georgia: ratified 14 March 2007 Germany: ratified 19 December 2012 Greece: signed 17 November 2005 Hungary: Ratified 4 April 2013 Iceland: ratified 23 February 2012 Ireland: ratified 13 July 2010
Italy: ratified 29 November 2010 Latvia: ratified 6 March 2008 Liechtenstein: unsigned Lithuania: ratified 26 July 2012 Luxembourg: ratified 14 April 2009 Malta: ratified 30 January 2008 Republic of Moldova: ratified 19 May 2006
Monaco: unsigned Montenegro: ratified 30 July 2008 Netherlands: ratified 22 April 2010 Norway: ratified 17 January 2008 Poland: ratified 17 November 2008 Portugal: ratified 27 February 2008 Romania: ratified 21 August 2006
Russian Federation: unsigned San Marino: ratified 29 November 2010 Serbia: ratified 14 April 2009 Slovak Republic: ratified 27 March 2006 Slovenia: ratified 3 September 2009 Spain: ratified 2 April 2009 Sweden: ratified 31 May 2010
Switzerland: ratified 17 December 2012 the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia: ratified 27 May 2009 Turkey: signed 19 March 2009 Ukraine: ratified 29 November 2010 United Kingdom: ratified 17 December 2008    

Legend: Not signed, signed, ratified

For a detailed state of signatures, including information regarding reservations or declarations deposited by states parties, please consult the Council of Europe's Treaty office page on the Convention against Trafficking.