The Council of Europe - 800 million Europeans
European institutions: what’s what?
Note the Difference:
Council of Europe

European Council

  • An international organisation in Strasbourg which comprises 47 democratic countries of Europe.
  • Regular meeting (at least twice a year) of the heads of state or government from the 27 member states of the European Union for the purpose of planning Union policy.
European Commission
  • The executive organ of the European Union based in Brussels which monitors the proper application of the Union treaties and the decisions of the Union institutions.

Parliamentary Assembly

European Parliament

  • The deliberative body of the Council of Europe, composed of 318 representatives (and the same number of substitutes) appointed by the member states’ national parliaments.
  • The parliamentary body of the European Union which comprises 736 members from the 27 European Union countries, elected by universal suffrage.

European Court of Human Rights

Court of Justice of the European Communities

  • Based in Strasbourg, this is the only truly judicial organ established by the European Convention on Human Rights. It comprises 47 judges and ensures, in the last instance, that contracting states observe their obligations under the Convention.
  • Meets in Luxembourg and ensures compliance with the law in the interpretation and application of the European Union treaties.
International Court of Justice
  • Judicial body of the United Nations which meets in The Hague.

European Convention on Human Rights

Universal Declaration of Human Rights

  • Treaty by which the member states of the Council of Europe undertake to respect fundamental human rights and freedoms.
  • Adopted by the United Nations in 1948 in order to strengthen the protection of human rights at international level.

Revised European Social Charter

Charter of Fundamental Rights

  • The Council of Europe Revised European Social Charter guarantees social and economic rights and is a counterpart to the European Convention on Human Rights.
  • Charter adopted by the European Union in December 2000 at the Nice European Council.

A political organisation set up in 1949, the Council of Europe works to promote democracy and human rights continent-wide. It also develops common responses to social, cultural and legal challenges in its 47 member states.
2002 - The Council of Europe Information Office - Tbilisi.