Useful information
European institutions: what is what?
Note the Difference:
Council of Europe

European Council

  • An international organisation in Strasbourg which comprises 46 democratic countries of Europe.
  • Regular meeting (at least twice a year) of the heads of state or government from the 25 member states of the European Union for the purpose of planning Union policy.

Parliamentary Assembly

European Parliament

  • The deliberative body of the Council of Europe, composed of 315 representatives (and the same number of substitutes) appointed by the member states' national parliaments.
  • The parliamentary body of the European Union which comprises 732 members from the 25 European Union countries, elected by universal suffrage.

European Commission of Human Rights

European Commission

  • The Commission ceased to operate in November 1998 with the creation of the single European Court of Human Rights. Before then, it examined the admissibility of all individual or state applications against a member state in accordance with the European Convention on Human Rights.
  • The executive organ of the European Union based in Brussels which monitors the proper application of the Union treaties and the decisions of the Union institutions.

European Court of Human Rights

Court of Justice of the European Communities

  • Based in Strasbourg, this is the only truly judicial organ established by the European Convention on Human Rights. It is composed of 46 judges" and ensures, in the last instance, that contracting states observe their obligations under the Convention. Since November 1998, the Court has operated on a full-time basis.
  • Meets in Luxembourg and ensures compliance with the law in the interpretation and application of the European Union treaties.
International Court of Justice
  • Judicial body of the United Nations which meets in The Hague.

A political organisation set up in 1949, the Council of Europe works to promote democracy and human rights continent-wide. It also develops common responses to social, cultural and legal challenges in its 47 member states.

2011 - Council of Europe Office in Georgia