European and Mediterranean Major Hazards Agreement

 European Warning System

EARTHQUAKE ALERTS page (click!)The European Alarm System was established to support information and dialogue between the Member States of the Agreement in the assistance brought in a State victim of a disaster.  It mainly concerns the seisms of magnitude higher than 6 on the Richter scale, although it is usable for other disasters.  In these cases, the Euro-Mediterranean Seismological Center (CSEM/EMSC) informs, in real time, the permanence team in the Council of Europe of the localization of the epicentre of the seism and its magnitude. This team undertakes to confirm the data with the affected country(ies) and ask for their possible needs, that if necessary are communicated to all Member States. The surveillance it assured by a network of 33 seismometers.


LAST ALERT RELEASED BY EMSC (European-Mediterranean Seismological Centre) 

Special web pages on significant earthquakes
  (Aftershocks distribution, Tsunami characteristisc and simulation, sources studies, donation, ...)

[Source: CSEM /EMSC] 


SAE Contributing Networks