Culture, Heritage and Diversity

European Diploma for Protected Areas

Danube Delta - Romania - Paradise of Birds - Photo: Daniel PetrescuThe European Diploma for Protected Areas is a prestigious international award granted since 1965 by the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe. It recognises natural and semi-natural areas and landscapes of exceptional European importance for the preservation of biological, geological and landscape diversity and which are managed in an exemplary way.

Protected areas may receive the diploma for their outstanding scientific, cultural or aesthetic qualities, but they must also be the subject of a suitable conservation scheme. Since its creation in 1965, 73 protected areas have been granted the European Diploma. They are located in 28 European countries, both member and non-member states of the Council of Europe.

The award of the European Diploma provides an invaluable stimulus for the efficient protection and management of landscapes, reserves or natural monuments and sites with special European significance. For the authorities responsible for protected areas, the award of the European Diploma represent an additional international tool which, under Council of Europe auspices, enhance their management and conservation efforts. The unique nature of the Diploma also lies in the fact that it is awarded for a limited duration; the threat that it may be withdrawn has a deterrent effect in respect of dangers liable to cause harm to the area and acts as a stimulus for the preservation and improvement of the site.


European Diploma for Protected Areas: Exceptional monitoring visit to the Bayerischer Wald National Park, Germany : 24-25 February 2015 - Press release
Group of Specialists on the European Diploma - 13 March 2015, Strasbourg (France)
50th Anniversary of the European Diploma for Protected Areas

Useful links

How it works
  Berchtesgaden National Park
European Diploma areas
Group of Specialists