Culture, Heritage and Diversity

Institutions of the Bern Convention

The Standing Committee

The Standing Committee is the governing body of the Bern Convention. It includes all Contracting Parties as well as observer states and organisations, both governmental and non-governmental, at the national and international level. It meets annually at the Council of Europe premises in Strasbourg. The Standing Committee adopts recommendations concerning measures that should be taken to achieve the Conventionís objectives and improve its effectiveness. It also monitors the implementation of the Convention and provides guidance on its implementation and further development.

Rules of procedure of the Standing Committee
Reports of the Standing Committee meetings
Meetings of the Standing Committee (T-PVS documents)

The Bureau of the Standing Committee

The Bureau of the Standing Committee takes administrative and organisational decisions in between meetings of the Standing Committee. It includes the Chair of the Standing Committee, the Vice-chair, the previous Chair, and two additional Bureau members, and is assisted by the Secretariat. The reports of Bureau meetings are made available to Parties and observers.

The Secretariat

The Secretariat of the Bern Convention is provided by the Council of Europe and supplies administrative and other services that may be required by the Standing Committee. The Secretariat is also responsible for convening meetings and preparing and circulating all documents and reports that need to be examined by the Standing Committee and its Bureau, as well as by the Groups of Experts and ad hoc working groups set up under the Convention.

Useful links