The Council of Europe is the continent's leading human rights organisation. It comprises 46 member states, including all members of the European Union. All Council of Europe member states have signed up to the European Convention on Human Rights, a treaty designed to protect human rights, democracy and the rule of law.

Since Moldova's accession to the Council of Europe on 13 July  1995, the Organisation has been supporting Moldova in honouring its statutory obligations and specific commitments to strengthen democracy, human rights and the rule of law.


Human rights, Democracy, Rule of Law

The Council of Europe advocates freedom of expression and of the media, freedom of assembly, equality, and the protection of minorities. It has launched campaigns on issues such as child protection, online hate speech, and the rights of the Roma, Europe's largest minority. The Council of Europe helps member states fight corruption and terrorism and undertake necessary judicial reforms. Its group of constitutional experts, known as the Venice Commission, offers legal advice to countries throughout the world.

The Council of Europe promotes human rights through international conventions, such as the Convention on Preventing and Combating Violence against Women and Domestic Violence and the Convention on Cybercrime. It monitors member states' progress in these areas and makes recommendations through independent expert monitoring bodies. Council of Europe member states no longer apply the death penalty.

Our History

In the immediate aftermath of the Second World War, it was generally felt that a new –style organization was needed to ensure that totalitarianism would never get a second chance in Europe, and guarantee peace, democracy and human rights throughout the Continent.

Founding fathers

Link to the Council of Europe History