Secretary General

The Secretary General is elected by the Parliamentary Assembly for a five-year term at the head of the Organisation. She is responsible for the strategic planning and direction of the Council's work programme and budget. She leads and represents the Organisation.
Visit Secretary General Website


The Deputy Secretary General is also elected for a five-year term by the Parliamentary Assembly, in an election separate to the one held for the Secretary General.
Visit Deputy Secretary General Website


Committee of Ministers

This is the Council's decision-making body and is made up of the ministers of foreign affairs of each member state or their permanent diplomatic representatives in Strasbourg. The Committee of Ministers decides Council of Europe policy and approves its budget and programme of activities.
Visit Committee of Ministers Website

Parliamentary Assembly (PACE)

The Parliamentary Assembly consists of 306 members of parliament from the 46 member states; the Assembly elects the Secretary General, the Human Rights Commissioner and the judges to the European Court of Human Rights; it provides a democratic forum for debate and monitors elections; its committees play an important role in examining current issues.
Visit Parliamentary Assembly Website

Congress of Local and Regional Authorities

The Congress of Local and Regional Authorities is responsible for strengthening local and regional democracy in its 46 member states. Composed of two chambers – the Chamber of Local Authorities and the Chamber of Regions – and three committees, it brings together 612 elected officials representing more than 150 000 local and regional authorities.
Visit Congress of Local and Regional Authorities Website

European Court of Human Rights

This is the permanent judicial body which guarantees for all Europeans the rights safeguarded by the European Convention on Human Rights. It is open to states and individuals regardless of nationality. The 46 member states of the Council of Europe are parties to the Convention.
Visit European Convention on Human Rights Website

Commissioner for Human Rights

The Human Rights Commissioner independently addresses and brings attention to human rights violations.
Visit Commissioner for Human Rights Website


Conference of INGOs

The Conference includes some 400 international Non Governmental Organisations (INGOs). It provides vital links between politicians and the public and brings the voice of civil society to the Council. The Council's work benefi ts extensively from the INGOs' expertise and their outreach to European citizens.
Visit Conference of INGOs Website

Intergovernmental co-operation

 Terms of Reference of Intergovernmental Structures

Global co-operation

The Council of Europe works in close partnership with the European Union, and co-operates with the United Nations, the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe, and with partner countries in its neighbourhood and worldwide.

Did you know?
Eurimages, set up in 1988, is the first European cinema support fund.


Of the countries below, which is not a member of the Council of Europe?

  1. Switzerland
  2. Ukraine
  3. Belarus

 Wrong answer...


Wrong answer...


 Right answer!