Since 1972, the European anthem has been an excerpt from the prelude to the Ode to Joy from Beethoven's 9th Symphony.

The Council of Europe makes available to professionals and the general public recordings of different interpretations of the European Anthem. These recordings are extracts from the "Rhapsodie sur l'Hymne Européen" by the French composer Christophe Guyard. They were commissioned by the Council of Europe for use in documentaries, news and other programmes covering the Council of Europe.

The "Rhapsodie sur l'Hymne Européen", is a protected work. It is not copyright-free, since it is registered with Sacem (France). The composer is Christophe Guyard.


The Council of Europe makes recordings of various interpretations and versions of the European Anthem available to radio, television and other media and the general public. The service is free but as these different works are protected their use and/or public broadcasting is subject to the payment of performing rights to Sacem (France). For all applications, please contact: [email protected]

Below you can find classical versions of the European Anthem, played on piano and on pipe organ.

  Listen to the Anthem played by the Orchestra

  Listen to the piano version

  Listen to the pipe organ version

To satisfy every European's musical taste, you will find below more adaptations of the European Anthem. All of these different versions are protected and not copyright-free.

« Rhapsodie sur l'Hymne Européen »,
by Christophe Guyard, performed by the SWR Symphony Orchestra of Baden-Baden and Freiburg, conducted by Roland Kluttig:

Jingle (00.21)

Slow version (01.11)

Anthem and final (01.56)

Full version (06.47)

«Rhapsodie sur l'Hymne Européen » ,
by Christophe Guyard:

Pipe Organ*, jingle (00.24)

Pipe Organ*, slow version (01.18)

Pipe Organ*, anthem et final (02.01)

Pipe Organ*, full version (04.55)

*Pipe Organ of the Béla Bartók National Concert Hall, Palace of Arts - Budapest, Hungary; entirely virtualised by Inspired Acoustics

Electric guitar version,
by Bertrand Vigier:

Short version (00.13)

Long version (01.10)

« Rhapsodie sur l'Hymne Européen »,
by Christophe Guyard, performed by Thierry Huillet:

Piano, jingle (00.24)

Piano, slow version (01.20)

Piano, anthem and final (01.44)

Piano, full version (06.14)

Jazz violin version,
by Bertrand Vigier and Pascal Beck, performed by Sophie Duranton and Pierre Lange:

Short version (00.12)

Long version (00.38)

Big Band version,
by Pierre Lange and Bertrand Vigier, performed by Pierre Lange, Joe Krenker and Jean-Gilles Charvot:

Version 1 (01.22)

Version 2 (00.09)

Version 3 (00.35)

Did you know?
Five countries have observer status with the Council of Europe: the Holy See, the United States, Canada, Japan and Mexico. 


The Council of Europe is a separate organisation from the 27-member European Union. But no country has ever joined the Union without first having been a member of the Council of Europe.

How many member states does the Council of Europe have?

  1. 39
  2. 42
  3. 46

Wrong answer...


Wrong answer...


Right answer!