List of Awarded Areas by country List of Awarded Areas by country

Wachau Protected Landscape

Award date: 05.09.94
  • Diminuer la taille du texte
  • Augmenter la taille du texte
  • Imprimer la page
  • Imprimer en PDF
Wachau Protected Landscape

The "Wachau" lies in the middle of Lower Austria some 65 km west of Vienna. The Wachau is that stretch of the Danube where the river cuts a roughly 33 km long valley through the basement complex of Bohemian massif between Melk in the west and Krems in the east, embracing also the hillsides visible from the Danube, including the eastern slopes of the Jauerling facing the Danube at "Spitzer Graben".

By virtue of its scenic, cultural, economic, biological, and geological individuality the Wachau can be said to be a self-contained yet richly variational region with very special, impressive characteristics, high aesthetic and cultural value. As a synthesis of natural landscapes and urbanisation, an ensemble of highly unusual, unmistakable character.

The region is also closed upon itself in an historical sense. Archeological findings made there suggest that the Wachau was one of the first regions in Europe to become civilised. Its villages, buildings, and civilisation point to a continuous development going back for more than one thousand years.


For information:

Verein Welterbegemeinden Wachau
Schlossgasse 3
A-3620 Spitz


EUNIS factsheet


Application file
Resolutions Available here
Experts reports following PE-S-ZP(94)41
PE-S-DE (2004)8
Other reports  
2013 annual report 31/10/2013
2014 annual report 27/11/2014
2015 annual report 11/11/2015
2016 annual report 23/11/2016
2017 annual report 07/12/2017
2018 annual report 14/12/2018
2019 annual report 10/12/2019
Next visit 2028