Combating all forms of violence against children is one of the main objectives of the Council of Europe’s “Building a Europe for and with children” programme. Social tolerance of certain forms of violence – for example, corporal punishment – or the silence surrounding sexual abuse of children are major challenges which must be taken up in the fight against violence. Exposing children to one form of violence increases their vulnerability to other forms of violent behaviours. Effective prevention of and reaction to violence, as well as effective safeguarding of the rights of the child, therefore call for a strategic and multidisciplinary approach.

The Council of Europe Policy Guidelines on Integrated National Strategies for the Protection of Children from Violence aim to be a source of inspiration for states striving to adopt a holistic approach to violence against children and to guarantee their children a childhood free from violence. The guidelines contain detailed proposals on how to develop an integrated national strategy on the rights of the child and the eradication of violence against children. The strategy is defined as a multidisciplinary and systematic framework integrated into the national planning process, rooted in the UNCRC and bringing together all stakeholders.

The guidelines are based on the recommendations of the UN Secretary General’s Study on Violence against Children, as well as on a comprehensive review of national policies in four Council of Europe member states (Italy, Norway, Portugal and Romania), resulting in a proposal for a model strategy against violence.

Upcoming events Upcoming events
Follow us Follow us
Contact us Contact us

La lutte contre toute forme de violence à l’encontre des enfants est l’un des principaux objectifs du programme « Construire une Europe pour et avec les enfants » du Conseil de l’Europe. La tolérance de la société envers certaines formes de violence, telles que les châtiments corporels, ou le silence qui entoure les abus sexuels sur enfants sont des problèmes majeurs auxquels il faut s’attaquer dans le cadre de la lutte contre la violence. Lorsqu’un enfant est exposé à une quelconque forme de violence, il est également plus vulnérable face à d’autres formes de comportements violents. Par conséquent, pour garantir l’efficacité des mesures de prévention et de lutte contre ces fléaux, ainsi que pour sauvegarder efficacement les droits des enfants,  il est nécessaire de adopted une approche stratégique et pluridisciplinaire.

Les Lignes directrices du Conseil de l’Europe sur les stratégies nationales intégrées de protection des enfants contre la violence visent à être un source d’inspiration pour les Etats qui s’efforcent d’adopter une approche globale de la violence à l’encontre des enfants et qui cherchent à garantir à leurs jeunes une enfance exempte de toute violence. Les Ligne directrices contiennent des propositions détaillées sur la manière d’élaborer une stratégie nationale intégrée sur les droits des enfants et sur l’éradication de la violence à l’encontre de ces derniers. Cette stratégie constitue un cadre pluridisciplinaire et systématique, intégré aux processus nationaux de planification et fondé sur la Convention des Nations Unies relative aux droits de l’enfant, qui relie toutes les parties prenantes.

Les lignes directrices sont fondées sur les recommandations énoncées dans L'étude du Secrétaire général des Nations unies sur la violence contre les enfants, ainsi que sur un examen approfondi des politiques nationales menées dans quatre Etats membres du Conseil de l’Europe (l’Italie, la Norvège, le Portugal et la Roumanie), ayant abouti à une proposition de stratégie modèle contre la violence.