Culture, Heritage and Diversity

Transromanica - The Romanesque Routes of European Heritage


A journey along the Romanesque Routes of European Heritage means travelling back into medieval times. Transromanica guides you to castles, cathedrals and monasteries built between the 10th and 12th century. Main characteristics of the Romanesque architecture are the use of round arches, thick walls and symmetrical plans, all together giving a harmonic appearance of simplicity.



Date and countries


Incorporated into the programme "The Council of Europe Cultural Routes": 2007

Countries: Austria, France, Germany, Italy, Portugal, Serbia, Spain





Transromanica is a European cultural network connecting the common architectural Romanesque heritage of seven countries between the Baltic Sea and the Mediterranean. The overall harmony is enriched by regional artistic and architectural features. Transromanica was certified as a Major European Cultural Route by the Council of Europe in 2007.


An association founded in November 2007 supports international, national and regional cooperation on the trail of the Romanesque. Its aim is to study the Romanesque heritage in the participating regions, to publicise this heritage, make it accessible to the general public, and to use Romanesque heritage for cultural purposes. All regions and organizations involved in preserving and promoting the Romanesque heritage in their regions, developing cultural tourism, and seeking a transnational exchange of ideas are welcome. Participating regions and countries are Carinthia (Austria), Modena (Italy), Saxony-Anhalt (Germany), Serbia, Castile and Leon (Spain), Tâmega and Sousa (Portugal) as well as the Basilica of Paray-le-Monial (Burgundy, France).


(Photo: Monastery of Studenica, Serbia)



More information







Transromanica 39104 Magdeburg - Germany