The Chair of the Committee of Ministers is held for a six-month term in turn by the representatives of the members in English alphabetical order. The Chair passes to a new Chair mid-May and mid-November, at a date fixed by the Committee based on a joint proposal by the incoming and outgoing Chairs.

At the handover ceremony, the incoming Chair presents the priorities of his/her country's chairmanship to the Committee of Ministers and the outgoing Chair presents a stocktaking report of the last six months.

The Chair acts in a neutral way and ensures that the rules and guidelines are respected. The Chair guides the discussions, put proposals to the vote and announces decisions.

Current Chairmanship

Past and future Past and future