Education plays an essential role in the promotion of the core values of the Council of Europe: democracy, human rights and the rule of law, as well as in the prevention of human rights violations. More generally, education is increasingly seen as a defence against the rise of violence, racism, extremism, xenophobia, discrimination and intolerance.

This growing awareness is reflected in the adoption of the Council of Europe Charter on Education for Democratic Citizenship and Human Rights Education by the Organisation’s 47 member states in the framework of Recommendation CM/Rec(2010)7.

The Charter is an important reference point for all those dealing with citizenship and human rights education. It provides a focus and catalyst for action in the member states. It is also a way of disseminating good practice and raising standards throughout Europe and beyond.


  In this interview, Yulia Pererva, Programme Manager, Education Policy Division talks about the Council of Europe Charter on Education for Democratic Citizenship and Human Rights Education explaining its aims and the latest developments relating to its implementation.  View video


Recommendation CM/Rec(2010)7 (official texts)

English  French 
 

Non-official translations of the Recommendation

Bulgarian   Estonian   Albanian (for use only in Kosovo1)

1 All reference to Kosovo, whether to the territory, institutions or population, in this text shall be understood in full compliance with United Nations Security Council Resolution 1244 and without prejudice to the status of Kosovo

Brochure

English   French   Finnish   Georgian   German   Hungarian   Russian   Spanish   Turkish   Ukrainian
 

Pocket version

English    French   Albanian  Azerbaijani  Bosnian   Croatian   Czech  Dutch  Estonian   Finnish   Georgian  German   Greek  Hungarian  Icelandic  Montenegrin   Norwegian   Polish  Portuguese  Romanian   Russian   Serbian   Spanish  Swedish Turkish

Order the brochure

English    French   German   Russian   Turkish
 

Human rights and democracy start with us - Charter for all

Child friendly version

The brochure for children explores the principles of human rights and democracy, what we can all do to make them possible, and how education can be of help.
 

For more information on the Charter for all

Useful resources Useful resources

The State of Citizenship and Human Rights Education in Europe

L’éducation joue un rôle essentiel dans la promotion des valeurs fondamentales du Conseil de l’Europe que sont la démocratie, les droits de l’homme et l’Etat de droit, ainsi que la prévention des violations des droits de l’homme. Par ailleurs, l’éducation est de plus en plus souvent considérée comme un moyen de combattre la montée de la violence, du racisme, de l’extrémisme, de la xénophobie, de la discrimination et de l’intolérance.

Cette prise de conscience croissante se traduit par l’adoption de la Charte du Conseil de l’Europe sur l’éducation à la citoyenneté démocratique et l'éducation aux droits de l’homme par les 47 Etats membres de l’Organisation, dans le cadre de la Recommandation CM/Rec(2010)7.

Cette Charte sert de base fondamentale à tous ceux qui exercent des activités en rapport avec l’éducation à la citoyenneté et aux droits de l’homme. Son application incite les Etats membres à prendre des mesures dans ce sens et, par ailleurs, à diffuser les bonnes pratiques et à améliorer la qualité de l’enseignement en Europe et au-delà.

Dans cette entrevue, Yulia Pererva, directrice de programme à la division des politiques éducatives, parle de la Charte du Conseil de l’Europe sur l’éducation à la citoyenneté démocratique et aux droits de l’homme.  Elle explique les objectifs et les derniers développements en lien avec son implantation. Voir vidéo

Recommandation CM/Rec(2010)7 (official texts)

Français    Anglais
 

Traductions non-officielles de la Recommandation

Allemand  Bulgare  Albanais (utilisation limitée au Kosovo1)

1 Toute référence au Kosovo dans le présent texte, qu’il s’agisse de son territoire, de ses institutions ou de sa population, doit être entendue dans le plein respect de la Résolution 1244 du Conseil de sécurité de l’Organisation des Nations Unies et sans préjuger du statut du Kosovo.

Brochure

Français    Anglais    Allemand  Espagnol    Finnois   Géorgien   Hongrois   Russe   Turc   Ukrainien
 

Version de poche

Français   Anglais   Albanais   Allemand  Azéri  Bosniaque  Croate  Espagnol  Estonien   Finnois   Géorgien  Grec  Hongrois  Islandais Monténégrin   Norvégien  Néerlandais Polonais   Portugais   Roumain   Russe   Serbe  Suedois Tchèque Turc
 

Commander cette publication

Français   Anglais    Allemand   Russe   Turc
 

La démocratie et les droits de l'homme - à nous de les faire vivre

Brochure pour les enfants
 

La brochure pour les enfants explore les principes des droits de l'homme et de la démocratie, ce que nous pouvons tous faire pour que cela devienne une réalité, et comment l'éducation y contribue...
 

Plus d'informations sur la Charte pour tous

Ressources utiles Ressources utiles

La situation de l’éducation à la citoyenneté et aux droits de l’Homme en Europe

Adoption de la Charte 2010 : communiqué de presse