The Council of Europe is the continent's leading human rights organisation. It includes 46 member states, 27 of which are members of the European Union. All Council of Europe member states have signed up to the European Convention on Human Rights, a treaty designed to protect human rights, democracy and the rule of law.

Since Georgia's accession to the Council of Europe on 27 April 1999 as its 41st member state, the Organisation has been supporting Georgia in honouring its statutory obligations and specific commitments to strengthen democracy, human rights and the rule of law.



Human rights, Democracy, Rule of Law

The Council of Europe advocates freedom of expression and of the media, freedom of assembly, equality, and the protection of minorities. It has launched campaigns on issues such as child protection, online hate speech, and the rights of the Roma, Europe's largest minority. The Council of Europe helps member states fight corruption and terrorism and undertake necessary judicial reforms. Its group of constitutional experts, known as the Venice Commission, offers legal advice to countries throughout the world.

The Council of Europe promotes human rights through international conventions, such as the Convention on Preventing and Combating Violence against Women and Domestic Violence and the Convention on Cybercrime. It monitors member states' progress in these areas and makes recommendations through independent expert monitoring bodies. All Council of Europe member states have abolished the death penalty.

Did you know?
The Convention on the protection of children against sexual exploitation and sexual abuse is the first instrument to establish the various forms of sexual abuse of children as criminal offences, including abuse committed in the home or family.

How to distinguish us

Council of Europe
An international organisation in Strasbourg which comprises 46 countries of Europe. It was set up to promote democracy and protect human rights and the rule of law in Europe.

European Council
Institution of the European Union, consisting of the heads of state or government from the member states together with the President of the European Commission, for the purpose of planning Union policy.

European Union (EU)
The EU currently has 27 members that have delegated some of their sovereignty so that decisions on specific matters of joint interest can be made democratically at European level. No country has ever joined the EU without first belonging to the Council of Europe.

Conseil de l'Europe - site web en français

Le Conseil de l’Europe est la principale organisation de défense des droits de l’homme du continent. Il comprend 46 États membres, dont l’ensemble des membres de l’Union européenne. Tous les États membres du Conseil de l’Europe ont signé la Convention européenne des droits de l’homme, un traité
visant à protéger les droits de l’homme, la démocratie et l’État de droit. La Cour européenne des droits de l’homme contrôle la mise en oeuvre de la Convention dans les États membres.

Accéder au site web du Conseil de l'Europe en français

Follow us on social media


Contact Us

Office in Georgia

64b Chavchavadze Ave. 14th Floor
Tbilisi 0179, Georgia

+99532 2913870/ 71/ 72