LB New

Facebook  Twitter  LinkedIn  Slideshare

  About GRECO
  News flashes /
Press releases  
   Gender dimensions
of corruption
  Web resources
   Parliamentary Assembly - Anti-corruption platform
   Council of Europe - Action against economic crime
   Site map
   Contact us
   Restricted access

San Marino joins the Council of Europe Group of States against Corruption (GRECO)

Press Release

Strasbourg, 16 August 2010The Republic of San Marino has joined the Council of Europe Group of States against Corruption (GRECO) on 13 August 2010 as its 48th Member State.

This accession further strengthens GRECO’s role as the reference for anti-corruption monitoring in Europe: its membership extends to the entire continent, all 47 Member States of the Council of Europe, and beyond to the United States of America.

By joining GRECO, San Marino actively commits itself to fighting corruption. An evaluation team will soon visit the country to assess the capability of national institutions to deal with corruption cases, immunities as a possible obstacle to prosecution, the deprivation of the proceeds of corruption, integrity in public administration, and responsibility of legal persons.

Next year, GRECO will issue a report summing up the findings of the on-site evaluation and containing recommendations prompting the necessary legislative, institutional and practical anti-corruption reforms. A further evaluation visit will be organised at a later stage to address the criminalisation of bribery and trading in influence, as well as transparency of party funding.


The Group of States against Corruption (GRECO) is a monitoring body established by the Council of Europe, in 1999, in order to improve the capacity of countries to prevent and combat corruption. It currently comprises: Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Republic of Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, San Marino, Republic of Serbia, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, "the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia", Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom and United States of America.