Council of Europe/European Union
Partnership for Good Governance

In April 2014, the European Union (EU) and the Council of Europe (CoE) agreed in a Statement of Intent that targeted cooperation activities with Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Republic of Moldova, Ukraine and Belarus - the EU’s Eastern Partnership countries - would be implemented under a ‘Partnership for Good Governance’ (PGG).

These cooperation activities will strengthen the capacity of Eastern Partnership countries, which are member States of the Council of Europe with the exception of Belarus; to implement domestic reforms to bring them closer to the standards of the Council of Europe and the European Union in the fields of human rights, democracy and the rule of law.

The PGG will be implemented in two phases: 2015‑2017 and 2018-2020. A mid-term evaluation will take place in 2017 and a final evaluation in 2020. The budget for the first implementation phase (2015-2017) is €33.8 million. The PGG is funded 90% by the European Union and 10% by the Council of Europe. It is implemented by the Council of Europe.

Five priority areas (or “themes”) of cooperation were identified with the European Union for the PGG. Under these five themes there are 15 sub-themes which lead to 50 country-specific and regional actions.

More information on the regional and country-specifc projects in Armenia can be found on the PGG Armenia page.