The Committee of Experts on Sexual Orientation, Gender Identity and Expression, and Sex Characteristics (ADI-SOGIESC) commenced its mandate in 2024, having been established in 2023 by the Committee of Ministers in accordance with Article 17 of the Statute of the Council of Europe and Resolution CM/Res(2021)3 on intergovernmental committees and subordinate bodies, their terms of reference and working methods. Operating as a subordinate body of the Steering Committee on Anti-discrimination, Diversity and Inclusion (CDADI), which oversees the Council of Europe's efforts to advance equality and foster inclusive societies, ADI-SOGIESC is entrusted with supporting member States in the development and implementation of effective policies related to SOGIESC. It is specifically mandated by the Committee of Ministers to produce key deliverables including drafting a Recommendation on the equality of rights of intersex persons, devising a strategy to combat discrimination and promote the rights of LGBTI individuals, and conducting reviews of Council of Europe Recommendation CM/Rec(2010)5. The committee comprises representatives from member States engaged in SOGIESC policy, along with participants from various Council of Europe bodies and international organisations. Additionally, it welcomes the participation of eight LGBTI-focused international non-governmental organisations (INGOs) as observers. To facilitate its objectives, ADI-SOGIESC convenes two plenary meetings annually.


Under the authority of the Committee of Ministers and as a subordinate body to the Steering Committee on Anti-discrimination, Diversity and Inclusion (CDADI), the ADI-SOGIESC is instructed to complete the following deliverables:

  • Draft Recommendation on the equality of rights of intersex persons by end of 2025
  • Comprehensive review of the implementation of Recommendation CM/Rec(2010)5 on measures to combat discrimination on grounds of sexual orientation or gender identity based on a new review methodology by the end of 2025
  • Draft Council of Europe strategy for the equality of rights of LGBTI persons (2027-2032), based on the implementation review of Recommendation CM/Rec(2010)5 and, subject to its adoption, on the Recommendation on the equality of rights of intersex persons by the end of 2026
  • Study on the risks and impediments to the full access to rights resulting from discrimination and violence on grounds of gender expression by the end of 2027
  • Annual Review of thematic dimensions of Recommendation CM/Rec(2010)5

Terms of Reference of ADI-SOGIESC (2024-2027)  >>

Meetings & Documents

Members: Governments of member States are invited to designate one or more representatives of the highest possible rank in the fields of policies for equality for LGBTI persons, anti-discrimination or related field.  The Council of Europe will bear the travel and subsistence expenses of one representative each from 26 member States designated by the CDADI according to a method, which shall have due regard to geographical representation and periodic rotation of member States. Each member of the Committee shall have one vote. Where a government designates more than one member, only one of them is entitled to take part in the voting.

Participants : 

  • Council of Europe Bodies:
    • Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe;
    • Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe;
    • European Court of Human Rights;
    • Commissioner for Human Rights of the Council of Europe;
    • Conference of INGOs of the Council of Europe;Observer States to the Council of Europe
    • European Commission against Racism and Intolerance (ECRI);
    • Steering Committee for Human Rights (CDDH);
    • Gender Equality Commission (GEC);
    • Steering Committee for the Rights of the Child (CDENF);
    • European Steering Committee for Youth (CDEJ);
    • Advisory Council on Youth (CCJ);
    • Committees or other bodies of the Council of Europe engaged in related work, as appropriate.
  • Observer States of the Council of Europe
  • International Organisations: European Union (including the European Union Agency for Fundamental Rights (FRA)) and other international organisations, including the Organisation for Security and Co-operation in Europe/Office for Democratic Institutions and Human Rights (OSCE/ODIHR), United Nations (including the Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR), UN Women, World Bank and other relevant UN agencies), Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).

Observers :

  • non-member States with which the Council of Europe has a Neighbourhood Partnership including relevant co-operation activities;
  • non-governmental organisations
    • EuroCentralAsian Lesbian* Community (EL*C)
    • European Forum of LGBT Christian Groups
    • European LGBTI Police Association (EGPA)
    • ILGA Europe
    • International Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer and Intersex Youth & Student Organisation (IGLYO)
    • Organisation Intersex International Europe (OII Europe)
    • Rainbow Cities Network (RCN)
    • Transgender Europe (TGEU)

  • Chair of the ADI-SOGIESC
    Yuri de Boer (The Netherlands)
  • Vice-Chair of the ADI-SOGIESC
    Aaron Giardina (Malta)
  • Evgenia Giakoumopoulou
    Secrétaire de l'ADI-SOGIESC
  • Ellsworth Camilleri
    Co-Secrétaire de l'ADI-SOGIESC
  • Anna Narewska
Social media