The European Landscape Convention provides for a Council of Europe Landscape Award which recognises policies or measures adopted by local or regional authorities or non-governmental organisations to protect, manage and/or plan their landscape which have proved lastingly effective and can thus serve as an example to other territorial authorities.

On 20 February 2008, the Council of Europe’s Committee of Ministers adopted Resolution CM/Res(2008)3 on the rules governing the Landscape Award of the Council of Europe. The Award and special mentions are conferred every two years on the basis of a Committee of Ministers’ decision following a proposal by a jury and the Council of Europe steering committee tasked with monitoring the implementation of the Convention. Four criteria have been established for the conferment of the Award: sustainable territorial development, exemplariness, public participation and awareness-raising.