The objective of the European Social Cohesion Platform is to reinforce the intergovernmental component of the Secretary General’s strategy to enhance the Council of Europe’s work in the area of social cohesion, in particular through the promotion of the European Social Charter and its collective complaints procedure in order to ensure equal and effective access to social rights. The Platform aims to sustain and underpin the Secretary General’s reform process in this field by:

  • promoting equal and effective enjoyment of social rights;
  • ensuring that a social cohesion perspective is mainstreamed in the activities of all relevant committees and bodies of the Organisation, through the sharing of good practices;
  • examining new trends and challenges.

The Platform was created as an ad hoc committee to respond to the request of several member States of the Council of Europe to create an intergovernmental structure to accompany the efforts of integration of the social aspects in the Council of Europe activities. It is open to all member States, institutions and committees of the Council of Europe, international institutions and other relevant stakeholders.
 

Specific Mandate

The Platform has a two-year mandate from January 2016 to December 2017 with the aim of ensuring the mainstreaming of social cohesion throughout the Council of Europe by:

  • further developing the concept of social rights;
  • contributing to impact assessments of the various activities in the different sectors with regard to achieving social cohesion, including the relevant activities aimed at building inclusive societies;
  • promoting specific actions which contribute to social cohesion.

Particular attention will be paid to ensuring that everyone can enjoy their social rights, as guaranteed by the European Social Charter and other relevant instruments, in practice and without any discrimination, with a special emphasis on vulnerable groups and young people, taking into account the findings of the relevant monitoring mechanisms. For this purpose, the Platform will support co-operation activities carried out upon the request of member States.

The Platform will foster the exchange of good practices and innovative approaches in the field of social cohesion among member States, as well as with relevant international organisations and other stakeholders.

The Platform will examine new trends and challenges to social cohesion in specific areas such as:

  • the protection and integration of migrants and refugees;
  • the impact of the economic crisis on social and health protection, in particular combating poverty and exclusion; 
  • the access of vulnerable groups and young people to social rights;
  • the respect of human dignity and anti-discrimination; 
  • the integration of the gender perspective in its works.

The Plateform will advise the Committee of Ministers and the Secretary General on any appropriate action to be takenin this field.

L’objectif de la Plateforme européenne de cohésion sociale est de renforcer la composante intergouvernementale de la stratégie du Secrétaire Général destinée à développer l’action du Conseil de l’Europe dans le domaine de la cohésion sociale, notamment par la promotion de la Charte sociale européenne et de sa procédure de réclamations collectives, dans le but de garantir un accès effectif, dans des conditions d’égalité, aux droits sociaux. Elle vise à faciliter et étayer le processus de réforme mené par le Secrétaire Général dans ce domaine, par les moyens suivants :

  • promouvoir la jouissance effective, dans des conditions d’égalité, des droits sociaux ;
  • veiller à ce que la question de la cohésion sociale soit intégrée dans les activités de tous les organes et comités pertinents de l’Organisation, en favorisant l’échange de bonnes pratiques ;
  • examiner les nouvelles tendances et les nouveaux défis.

La Plateforme européenne de cohésion sociale a été créée sous forme de comité ad-hoc en réponse à la demande de plusieurs pays membres du Conseil de l’Europe de créer une structure intergouvernementale pour mieux intégrer l’aspect social dans les activités de l’Organisation. La Plateforme est ouverte à tous les Etats membres, aux institutions et comités du Conseil de l’Europe, aux institutions internationales et aux autres parties prenantes. 
 

Mandat spécifique

La Plateforme a un mandat de deux ans, de janvier 2016 à décembre 2017 afin d'assurer l’intégration de la question de la cohésion sociale dans toutes les activités du Conseil de l’Europe en

  • affinant le concept de cohésion sociale,
  • participant à l’évaluation de la contribution apportée par les activités menées dans les différents secteurs à la réalisation de la cohésion sociale, y compris les activités pertinentes destinées à construire des sociétés inclusives ;
  • promouvant des actions spécifiques en faveur de la cohésion sociale.

Une attention particulière sera portée à faire en sorte que chacun puisse concrètement jouir de ses droits sociaux, tels que garantis par la Charte sociale européenne et d’autres instruments pertinents, sans discrimination, en mettant spécifiquement l’accent sur les groupes vulnérables et les jeunes, en tenant compte des conclusions des organes de suivi pertinents. Dans ce but, la Plateforme apportera son soutien aux activités de coopération menées à la demande des Etats membres.

La Plateforme encouragera l’échange de bonnes pratiques et les approches innovantes en matière de cohésion sociale entre les Etats membres, mais aussi avec les organisations internationales concernées et d’autres acteurs.

La Plateforme examinera les nouvelles tendances et les nouveaux défis liés à la cohésion sociale dans des domaines spécifiques comme:

  • la protection et l’intégration des migrants et des réfugiés ;
  • l'impact de la crise économique sur la protection sociale et la santé, en particulier la lutte contre la pauvreté et l'exclusion; 
  • l’accès des groupes vulnérables et des jeunes aux droits sociaux ;
  • le respect de la dignité humaine et la lutte contre la discrimination ;
  • l’intégration de la perspective de genre dans ses travaux.

La Plateforme conseillera le Comité des Ministres et le Secrétaire Général sur toute action appropriée à mener.

   Calendrier

   Newsletter

   Contact